We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desserts to Die For” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beppe & Gianni's Trattoria

Beppe & Gianni's Trattoria
1646 East 19th Street, Eugene, OR 97403
541-683-6661
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 532 Restaurants in Eugene
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Bay Area
Top Contributor
597 reviews 597 reviews
476 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Desserts to Die For”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

1646 E. 19th (Agate)
Doesn’t take reservations for less than 8 persons
Really cool, refurbished old house
Nice salads; the small salads are big!
Delicious house bread
Nice wine list & wines by the glass
Recommend: checking out the wine room in the back
Nice specialties: risotto nightly (good for people w/celiac condition)
Loved the pasta e.g., rigatoni w/sausage & pesto
Fantastic desserts (displayed in a case)
Great food service by Mia
Minus: macchiato was super bitter; & no raw sugar (this is a sin in Eugene)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    64
    27
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

If you want to go somewhere romantic and beautiful, with absolutely stunningly delicious food for dinner, this is the place. Perfect for nearly any occasion. If you have to wait for a table, let me just tell you now that the food and atmosphere is completely worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Service by the Owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This place has a great reputation for food and a charming dining area. My family tried to take my mother here for her birthday. We called ahead and were told over the phone that they don't take reservations but that they could accommodate our party. When we arrived they had gotten very busy. We waited an hour while watching people walk in and get seated ahead of us. The people coming in would call out saying hello to one of the owners, Beppe, and they would get seated immediately. We had a group of eight and when a table for six opened up I asked Beppe if we could be seated there, squeezing in a couple of chairs. He refused abruptly saying that we would be in the way of the servers and did not apologize for his staff telling us on the phone that they could fit us in. We finally left and went to Mazzi's, which was also busy but was able to seat us after a short wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Better than Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

There's no need to travel to Tuscany for the best Italian food because it it right here in Eugene. Beppe & Gianni's Trattoria was outstanding. I enjoyed the ravioli of the day as a single at the bar. Friendly conversation with the bar keeper and the 49er's trouncing the Bears on the TV made good company. The house was full and happy on a rainy night. I wouldn't miss this restaurant!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“There might be a better Italian restaurant in Oregon but I wouldn't waste my time looking for it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The best Italian food north of San Francisco. Daily ravioli specials were great....butternut squash was heavenly. I had the angel hair pasta with scallops and shrimp. More shrimp and scallops than one would normally expect. Great flavors. My friend had risotto which was just OK. The desserts are great, a bit over the top in size (share ??) Waitstaff is friendly and attentive. They open at 5:00 pm and are full right away. When we left 90 minutes later there was a line of about 20 people (Friday night).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beppe & Gianni's Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Beppe & Gianni's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beppe & Gianni's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.