We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Business Travel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of C'est La Vie Inn

Save Saved
You added C'est La Vie Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
C'est La Vie Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1006 Taylor Street, Eugene, OR 97402   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Eugene B&B and Inns
Olympia, WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for Business Travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

I stayed in the Casablanca suite, which is in the carriage house, and it had every amenity a person could want whether you were traveling for business or pleasure. A large suite with kitchenette featuring a sink, refrigerator (stocked with soda and water), coffee maker, and microwave. Immaculate. The bed was very comfortable allowing me to get two great nights rest. There is a large jetted tub as well as a well appointed bathroom with shower. There is also wireless, a desk with printer and fax machine so I could conduct business however I needed to. The sitting area was also large enough that I could have entertained business colleagues or had meetings, but I didn't have that need this trip.

To top it off the inn has been restored lovingly and meticulously, not a detail was left out. Breakfast was not huge, but very satisfying. The gardens are amazing with lots of spots to sit and relax with a cup of excellent coffee. Anne-Marie and Jack have done an amazing job.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
66
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

We were very pampered in the Casablanca room, in which we were very graciously allowed to have our young daughter. Being separate from the main house assured that no noise would disturb other guests.

The whole Inn has been painstakingly restored with obviously no expense spared. The bed was extremely comfortable and two nights of much needed deep sleep were had by all.

Not knowing Eugene, I had no problem with the location. We even walked to a restaurant for dinner.

Breakfast was delicate and delicious. In my opinion, not too much but not too little. If you are looking for a Denny's Grand Slam this won't do it for you. The coffee was good and the company of other guests and Anne Marie and Jack made the stay more memorable.

Be sure to take a drive to the wineries of the area. Stop and have lunch at Kings Estate. The wine and food are amazing.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

the place is fantastic, an old vistorian lovingly restored with amazing attention to detail. the wood work is breathtaking. garden was so well kept, food great, my 11 year old said it was like living in a palace.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

C'est La Vie Inn is a beautifully restored Victorian, smaller than it looks from outside and from pictures, but immaculately kept and decorated with lovely detail. The gardens are delightful, and there are many wonderful seating areas for nearly private outdoor coffee or a glass of wine. The bathroom in our room was spacious and so pretty, with both a beautiful clawfoot tub and a stand-alone shower. The beds and linens were superb.

I am however surprised to read of some of the breakfasts others have eaten here at the Inn. Not one to go in for huge American breakfasts, it doesn't take vast quantity to satisfy me. Nonetheless, on a vacation, one expects or at least hopes to be pampered. I feel I wasn't the only one at the table to be surprised that breakfast was over after being served, among the six of us, coffee, juice, a dinner-plate sized fruit 'platter', and 2 plates each with 4 small crepes. (Presumably the 2 extra crepes were for the 2 men at the table). Even this slight repast may have been adequate if there had been anything in the crepe but literally about 2-3 tablespoons of what seemed very much like a black bean and corn salsa, with a scraping of less than a tablespoon of sour cream on top. At home, even on a diet, I could have put some smoked salmon or asparagus and perhaps a small serving of high-quality and delicious cheese into the crepe, and still not go over my calorie goal! unlike some of the breakfasts I read about in previous comments, there was no choice between banana bread or French bread. No meat or vegetarian substitute. No eggs (albeit one may have been in the crepe itself, I suppose.) I would have been happier with a typical continental breakfast at even a moderately-priced hotel.

So sadly, even though C'est La Vie Inn is beautiful, I can not recommend a Bed and BREAKFAST which falls so short on the latter part of its name.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, NH
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

Great folks, lovely rooms, good breakfasts, an amazing garden, easy to get to/from the airport. Mostly quiet, but on a busy graduation weekend our room (the Matisse room) was a little noisy at night -- drawing the heavy drapes helped a lot.

A couple of small problems:
- High-speed internet was out several times.
- The extra bed we asked for was an air mattress… which leaked! After it did this twice, Anne-Marie got a real extra bed -- and on our last night, she gave us a second room free to make up for the problem!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

C'est La Vie was a delightful surprise. The rooms were cozy, quiet and immaculate. The breakfast was as good as any you would get at a 5 star hotel. After breakfast we were given a tour of the garden which is beautiful and so much thought has been given to the plants and layout. There is a small porch off the upstairs library where my husband and I sat on a warm pleasant evening. All in all, I would say this was the best B&B experience we have had.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

This was our first time B&B.
It was so nice decor,garden,bed and people.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to C'est La Vie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C'est La Vie Inn

Address: 1006 Taylor Street, Eugene, OR 97402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — C'est La Vie Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you heard?We were rated “Fodor’s Choice” for Eugene lodging. Lonely Planet also rated C’est La Vie Inn as their top pick for Eugene! In addition, we were chosen as Eugene's representative in "20 Great College Town B&Bs" by BedandBreakfast. And our beautiful inn was voted one of the most romantic places to stay by “Best Places to Kiss in the Pacific Northwest.” See why visitors from across the country and around the world have enjoyed their stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your C'est La Vie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage C'est La Vie Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.