We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely pleased and surprised - had a great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Downtown Inn to your Saves list
Downtown Inn
361 W 7th Ave, Eugene, OR 97401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Eugene
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extremely pleased and surprised - had a great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We chose a motel-like place to stay to save money, and even though the Downtown Inn had good online reviews, we were very pleasantly surprised. The room was large and clean, with lots of work space, surfaces and chairs, firm, comfortable beds, free wifi (good speed and connection), friendly staff, fridge, microwave, good shower... everything you could want. Best of all, the location is fantastic - walking distance from the Saturday Market, a number of coffee shops and other attractions. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at Downtown Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. From everyone here at Downtown Inn we would like to extend our sincere gratitude for your business and wish you safe travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    13
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
16
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We picked Downtown Inn because it was within walking distance of downtown and were completely satisfied. The rooms have been recently updated, in good working order and are clean. It is nice to be able to park your car right in front of your hotel room. The rooms aren't huge but there was a large table, a desk, a mini fridge, a microwave, a wide screen TV and the WiFi was reasonably fast.

One reviewer complained about the breakfast so we were prepared for the worst but it was OK. Sweet rolls, bananas, coffee, tea, cereal, instant oatmeal... Not bad for free.

Staff was friendly and courteous.

The biggest factor for us was the location. It is an easy walk to any of the restaurants, brewpubs or tasting rooms in downtown. On Saturdays, the Saturday market is just a few blocks away. It's also right next to the major arteries if you have to drive somewhere.

The allow dogs for a modest fee which was great for our little dog.

The only complaints were quite minor: the window air conditioner was a bit noisy and not super cold and the neighborhood was a bit sketchy but that's the double-edged sword with downtown.

Would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at Downtown Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your response, we take great pride in ensuring every guest receives the attention they deserve. When you stay with Downtown Inn, you can be sure that everyone here will do whatever it takes to ensure that our guests receive the best in customer care. We value your business and hope you will stay with us again next time you are in the area. From all of us here at Downtown Inn, we wish you safe travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed here several times in 2013.
Seems each time I felt less and less comfortable.
My last and final visit was when I awoke to find the already minimalistic "Continental breakfast wasnt being served because the hadn' delivered the rolls.
So where is the coffee? They forgot that too.
None of these excuses could make up for having to go to a very seedy gas station for some real road mud.
I will not reward them for lacking any customer service and will never grace them with my business again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Owner at Downtown Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi Michael,

I am so sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our hotel. None the less there should never be an excuse for all that. I will definitely get hold of the staff and take care of this kind of issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfair, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hotel is in an okay downtown location and close to it all there. It was the best hotel out of four others that I personally checked out in the 5 block area. Would recommend you to personally check out the other hotels on 7th & 6th Ave. before you pass this one up. I finally picked this one. Check in owners are very polite and you could understand there English well. Right across the street Chevron Food Mart and several food places close.
Rooms were clean and spacious, beds were comfortable with good sheets and pillows. Lots of extra space to sprawl out. Larger bathroom area. Fridge and microwave were new and worked great. Bath vent worked good. Had hangers, iron and board. Table with two chairs worked but need replacing someday soon, worn out and uncomfortable.
Would hardly call it a continental breakfast. Really cheap orange juice like Sunny Jim or something, yuk. Two bulk cereals, frosted something and boring O's. Bananas, packaged bear claws and berry cakes things. Coffee carafe hardly worked, slow slow pour and no good creamer. You would be better off like we did walking right across the street to the Chevron Food Mart.
Outside entrances with sitting benches and flower pots made it seem warm and not just another bare hotel setting. Parking lot needs resurfacing bad, smooth but blotchy with chipping of surface coating. We stayed two nights and wished we were back at the Timbers Hotel a little further in town. If you don't stay at the Timbers Hotel then stay here for rooms under $80 bucks.

Room Tip: Didn't really seem to be a choice in the matter, they all looked the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at Downtown Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. From everyone here at Downtown Inn we would like to extend our sincere gratitude for your business and wish you safe travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for a night and definitely recommend it.
The guy on Reception was very friendly and Very Helpful with directions and Information.
The rooms were modern and clean.
It is near Shops, Restaurants and Bars,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at Downtown Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

A group of us stayed in this Motel during for our annual Oregon Ducks football game. GO DUCKS!!! We were all very pleased! The rooms were very clean, comfy beds, great location!!The hotel staff & manager were very courteous & kind!!! We plan on staying again next year :) :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Owner at Downtown Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Glad to hear that your stay was comfortable. We will see you guys next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Okay, not the nicest place I've ever stayed. But it was walking distance from the train station, clean, a good value AND booking through their website was actually the best rate. I like that- proprietor struck me as straight forward and decent. BTW- Do not count on "continental breakfast" for real food.

Room Tip: U-shaped configuration and small lot means road noise hard to avoid, on a major street that used to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Inn

Address: 361 W 7th Ave, Eugene, OR 97401
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Downtown Inn. We are uniquely located in spectacular downtown Eugene, Oregon. Whether you're visiting Eugene for business, vacationing in our scenic wonderland, taking in the unbelievable sights of the Eugene area, or just passing through, the Downtown Inn will provide you with just the right kind of accommodations to make your visit a pleasurable one. We are only two and half blocks from the Hult Center for the Performing Arts, and Eugene Hilton Conference Center. We are the closest motel to the Wings Seminars, and very close to University of Oregon, Valley River Center, Oakway Mall, Sacred Heart Hospital, and many parks and open spaces. Contact us for group booking rates. Truck and bus parking is available. With our full service staff, convenient location, and wide range of amenities, Downtown Inn is a great choice for all your lodging needs. GIVE US A TRY FOR YOUR NEXT STAY IN EUGENE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Eugene

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.