We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than it looks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Inn

Save Saved
You added Downtown Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Downtown Inn
361 W 7th Ave, Eugene, OR 97401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 32 hotels in Eugene
Davis, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Better than it looks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Exterior is not encouraging, but room was very good - a cut above average, but couldn't really rate it as "very good" although it is a good value Very clean, good hot shower, big fluffy towels (Willamette Valley has soft water), solid mattress and confortable pillow, so-so breakfast bar (coffee, cereal, some fruit). Excellent location for moving about downtown Eugene. Frig, microwave, hairdryer.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    15
    12
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
11
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I will say this, this motel offers a refrigerator & microwave. I stayed in a 4 star hotel that didn't offer those items. It's a cute, very old fashioned motel. Rooms are large and I giggled at the cute little built in heater in the bathroom. The shower is like a small tiled closet and just made me feel like I stepped back into time. Mattresses are hard as a rock though and my room needed to be renovated as I could see plaster patches and water damage in the bathroom. Continental breakfast is a bit of a joke. Two types of cereal, orange drink, terrible tasting packaged muffins, coffee, basic tea and fruit. Not much to it. All-in-all not a bad experience, just not my usual comfort.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

My wife and I stayed here after booking the room on Orbitz. We had never stayed in Eugene before and therefore had no "go to" place. We took a chance and it worked out very well. The motel is pretty old, which means rather large rooms and our room had been freshly remodeled. I thought it cute that we had an old fashioned key instead of the usual credit card type key. We had a large bathroom with a tub, refrigerator, and microwave. Being a rural kind of guy, I had some anxiety about staying right downtown. It was well lighted and there are security cameras around. The only downside was there are 28 units in the front section and only 17 parking places. Someone potentially has to park somewhere else. That aside, I'll be back next time I need a room in Eugene.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olalla, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Spent one night in Eugene's Downtown Motel in September. Had researched several Motels close to the train depot on the net, and this one sounded like the best.
I made my reservations on line, and upon arrival we found the Downtown Motel was just as advertised. Had all of the things I find important in a Motel. Good managers, logged us in quickly and efficiently, The room was clean with no odd smells (we had reserved a no smoking room with a single king sized bed.) Bed and bathroom linens were clean and bright, Bathroom and tub were clean, with lot's of hot water. We had a good nights sleep, with only minimal noise form the street. Before check out we tried the Breakfast, found cold Cereal with milk, bananas, coffee(bad!), muffins, and a news paper to read. The price was as listed. Only a seven block walk back to the Depot. We will stay here again.
As an aside, this Motel along with several others in this area, subscribed to a service called Pony Express. Placed upon the table in our room were several menu's from different cafe's in the area. You could make your meal selection from the menu, call Pony Express, and for a flat charge of $4.50 they will go to the restaurant/cafe, place your order and deliver it to your room. Such a deal! Wished others did the same.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

This is my second time staying here from Florida.
I booked for 2 weeks this time ($450) because my housing in
Eugene fell through and my flight doesn't leave till then.
They remembered me & waved the deposit because they said
I was "clean". :)

I had a minor issue with the toilet in one of the remodeled rooms in the front,
they quickly fixed it the next morning. I noticed they had smoking rooms,
and they prompty told me when the next one was available.
It was one of the older type rooms (smaller TV & older furnishings), BUT it had a bigger bathroom & a nice sized TUB, which I prefer to just a shower.
All the appliances worked, the heater heats up the room fast.
Being a lone female, security is important...The lighting is very bright on the outside.
Lots of homeless walking around Eugene, not necessarily violent folk, but if you want
an extra level of security, ask for a room in the front, or by the main office.
FREE WIFI is a HUGE PLUS.
It's close proximity to cool downtown Eugene also hurts the sound levels a bit,
you can hear every car going by. I always wear earplugs when I sleep so
it didn't bother me.
The bed's are comfy, not hard, room is bigger than expected.
I stayed in lots of motels in Florida at a similar price point, and this place
puts them to shame.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Made a reservation on Orbitz and called the motel directly(BIG MISTAKE) to change the reservation for two days later. I was told that it was no problem but when I showed up, they had no rooms and charged my credit card any way. NOT TO BE TRUSTED! STill fighting with my credit card company. Stay away, many more honest motel owners in Eugene.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

I stayed at this hotel during the local festival Eugene Celebration and couldn't have been more satisfied! Walking distance to Eugene's downtown and a quick bus ride away to any where you might want to go to enjoy Eugene! It looks very modest from the outside but is kept very clean! The owners of the property are very personable and keep the price very affordable. Don't let the pictures on Orbitz, Hotels.com, or anyother website fool you it is a great motel! Book your room directly through the motel and save yourself the fees the onlines agencys charge and get the same rate!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Inn

Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel
Downtown Hotel Eugene
Address: 361 W 7th Ave, Eugene, OR 97401
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 hotels in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Downtown Inn. We are uniquely located in spectacular downtown Eugene, Oregon. Whether you're visiting Eugene for business, vacationing in our scenic wonderland, taking in the unbelievable sights of the Eugene area, or just passing through, the Downtown Inn will provide you with just the right kind of accommodations to make your visit a pleasurable one. We are only two and half blocks from the Hult Center for the Performing Arts, and Eugene Hilton Conference Center. We are the closest motel to the Wings Seminars, and very close to University of Oregon, Valley River Center, Oakway Mall, Sacred Heart Hospital, and many parks and open spaces. Contact us for group booking rates. Truck and bus parking is available. With our full service staff, convenient location, and wide range of amenities, Downtown Inn is a great choice for all your lodging needs. GIVE US A TRY FOR YOUR NEXT STAY IN EUGENE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.