We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Mom's Day brunch with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwaters

Sweetwaters
1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401-2115
541-341-3462
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sweetwaters is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 528 Restaurants in Eugene
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Valley River Drive
Transit: On LTD Bus Route, On Bike Path
Description: Sweetwaters on the River is a time-honored classic. Located on the banks of the Willamette River, at Valley River Inn. SweetWaters on the River is a Eugene, Oregon restaurant for corporate diners, the culinary tourist and fine food epicurean. With our panoramic view and three season outdoor patio we define the quintessential Oregon dining experience. Predicated upon local producers of meat, produce and unique ingredients such as Oregon truffles, huckleberries and artisan cheeses, this restaurant in Eugene maintains a focus on local and fresh ingredients. Centrally located in the Southern Willamette Valley wine region our unique geographic position is perfect for the wine enthusiast. Our wine list showcases Oregon’s growing wine industry where world class Pinot Noir is compared to the best of those from Burgundy. Guests with a palate for fresh innovative cuisine and an enthusiasm for fine wine will appreciate the unrivaled service and authentic ambiance of Sweetwaters on the River.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Yummy Mom's Day brunch with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Food was delicious. Great choices. Particularly loved desserts in small portions so I could have some of everything!! Service rocked with our server Lisa D. and decor was sweet too with flowers and paper pompoms.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweetwaters_14, Manager at Sweetwaters, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments on our food and atmosphere! Sweetwaters on the River is renowned for an exceptionally personalized guest experience on our stunning riverfront location. Mother’s Day is a very special day for us and we really appreciate your feedback. - Restaurant Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    54
    29
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
“Lunch Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Sierra is a very nice, energetic and positive waitress. She remembered us from our luncheon in early April which she made a very fun experience. We look forward to coming back and hope she is our waitress again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweetwaters_14, Manager at Sweetwaters, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your positive comments. Here at Sweetwaters on the River we pride ourselves on delivering genuinely warm Pacific Norwest hospitality by tenured, passionate associates. Restaurant Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruz Bay, St. John
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go back again soon!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Amazing EVERYTHING!!! Just had a trip to do in Eugene and happened on this place!!The meal was absolutely worth every penny and the service and wait staff were very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Carefully prepared and served”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Nice spot on the Willamette River, adjacent to a walking-biking path. Wait staff are friendly and informed. The coffee was very good. Upscale without being stuffy or overpriced. There seems to be an emphasis on local and regional sourcing, which is great because the Willamette Valley has excellent wineries, orchards, and produce farms. I haven't seen children at the restaurant, which is fine with me!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweetwaters_14, Manager at Sweetwaters, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments on our food and service. Here at Sweetwaters on the River we pride ourselves on delivering authentic and genuinely warm Pacific Northwest hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sitting by the River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a wonderful place to sit and watch the water flow by, while the sun shines through the trees, having a glass of wine and sharing great food. Late night it is fun to visit to -- and the "bar food" is some of the best .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweetwaters_14, Manager at Sweetwaters, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments on our food and atmosphere. Sweetwaters on the River is renowned for an exceptionally personalized guest experience on our stunning riverfront location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwaters also viewed

 
Eugene, OR
 

Been to Sweetwaters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwaters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.