We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good light food in bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwaters

Sweetwaters
1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401-2115
541-341-3462
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sweetwaters is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 532 Restaurants in Eugene
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Valley River Drive
Transit: On LTD Bus Route, On Bike Path
Description: Sweetwaters on the River is a time-honored classic. Located on the banks of the Willamette River, at Valley River Inn. SweetWaters on the River is a Eugene, Oregon restaurant for corporate diners, the culinary tourist and fine food epicurean. With our panoramic view and three season outdoor patio we define the quintessential Oregon dining experience. Predicated upon local producers of meat, produce and unique ingredients such as Oregon truffles, huckleberries and artisan cheeses, this restaurant in Eugene maintains a focus on local and fresh ingredients. Centrally located in the Southern Willamette Valley wine region our unique geographic position is perfect for the wine enthusiast. Our wine list showcases Oregon’s growing wine industry where world class Pinot Noir is compared to the best of those from Burgundy. Guests with a palate for fresh innovative cuisine and an enthusiasm for fine wine will appreciate the unrivaled service and authentic ambiance of Sweetwaters on the River.
Los Gatos, CA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good light food in bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Because the concierge room was not open we were given tickets for snacks in the bar. We had the Calamari and it was very good. Also the bartender made it a fun experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    56
    29
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Restaurant at Valley River Inn Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Possibly the best restaurant in Eugene. We go there for notable events in our lives, such as our resent anniversary. They had an extensive and quality wine list by the glass. We were able to toast with a very good Maschio Prosecca followed by a very good Pinot Gris with our Dungeness Crab starters. A great Zinfandel accompanied our main course. My wife had a perfect rare Prime rib while I had a very innovative Pork shoulder. They gifted us an amazing chocolate desert. We finished with sweet martinis, a Sun Drop and an English Dawn. My wife loved her Sun Drop. I thought my English Dawn was too sweet. They graciously provided something else to replace it.
The setting is upscale and is very romantic, with seating in front of huge windows or patio tables overlooking the Willamette River. The service is exceptional. With a 20% off coupon the bill was $103. Even without the coupon this was a wonderful and affordable Fine Dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Adequate Hotel Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The service was outstanding, personable yet professional. The cuisine was just standard, nothing exceptional.

Staying at the hotel for a conference, we only ate breakfast in the restaurant. The breakfast menu was somewhat limited, and on the first morning I chose the buffet. It was barely above room temperature. The next morning I selected a menu omelet which was nicely prepared and the plate well presented with sides, etc. The items were, however, merely average, nothing remarkable.

We dined elsewhere for all other meals during our stay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Alexis Knight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Excellent service justin was very accomodating and friendly during a busy lunch and found us the perfect table. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suburban Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was at Sweetwaters for lunch with my family and we were very pleased with both the quality of
the food, the service and the ambiance. I had the half turkey avocado wrap and cup of soup. The soup was turkey vegetable and was filled with chicken and fresh veggies. The half turkey wrap was gigantic and filled with fresh roasted turkey, not lunchmeat. My husband and son had the Pacific Bay shrimp salad and were very happy with their selection. We walked to the Rose
Garden after lunch and then came back and sat on the outside patio for wine and beer. It was a lovely afternoon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwaters also viewed

 

Been to Sweetwaters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwaters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.