We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorites in Eugene” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Sky

Ocean Sky
1601 Chambers St, Eugene, OR 97402-3646
(541) 342-4848
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #217 of 514 restaurants in Eugene
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“One of my favorites in Eugene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good quality Chinese food. Fair prices, especially for lunch. Very good portions. Service is ok, but sometimes they are short staffed. Interior decor and furnishings are a bit dated. That said, I go there about once a month.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

52% Recommend
    5
    14
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“top 3 choices for Chinese food in Eugene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

good portion, good quality, good price, good value. I amnative Chinese and I think their foodis pretty good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“If only the service was better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have tried to forgive the poor service over the years because they have very unique food and there are times that it's worth running the gauntlet in hopes of making it out in an hour.

I suggested to two friends that we try OS for lunch since I was craving some sweet and sour chicken and chowmein. Mistake. Big mistake.

We were seated immediately but we were not even acknowledged by a server or bus person for twenty minutes. Meaning we weren't given the obligatory tea and water.

After being ignored, I caught the eye of a waitress by the "excuse me, ma'am" that should draw attention. Instead, she walked away. By this time, we're nearly thirty minutes in and I need to be back to work and don't have time to go anywhere else.

Our server finally came to the table and I explained we had limited time. In her defense, they did have two rather large parties and were under staffed. She brought our order fairly quickly.

Unfortunately, this will be my last visit to OS. my friends agreed that the food just wasn't worth it. I was ten minutes late from lunch and I can no longer tolerate the poor service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“above average Chinese American cusine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Food is tasty & without MSG
Have been going since they opened in the late 80's.
Should you stray away from the chow mein & fried rice, there are some dishes that are pretty traditional , using local ingredients.
Quick & satisfying,
Service can be spotty -

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“ocean sky is ocean sty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The food is good-but the restaurant is dirty
It is usually really busy- but totally understaffed- so the service is slow because 1 waitress and 15 tables

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Sky also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.