We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, service and phó lacking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pho

Pho
2729 Shadow View Dr, Eugene, OR 97408
+1 541-357-4971
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 481 Restaurants in Eugene
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, service and phó lacking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

The price is average for a bowl of phó in this area, unfortunately the quality was not. The phó tastes like it is made from a can or a mix of some kind. We ordered drinks that never showed up and had to ask for pretty much everything multiple times. The restaraunt is very nice but the good and service do not live up to it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wow! This was a great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I ate at Pho last night and everything was incredibly delicious. I was very surprised to find a restaurant of this quality in the Eugene area. I ordered the eggplant and chicken with garlic sauce, and it was beautifully prepared...not too oily, everything cooked to perfection. The fried banana with ice cream was large (we shared it three ways) and most delicious. I have been to many wonderful restaurants all over the world, and I know this must sound weird, but this was one of my all time favorite restaurants. I would happily eat here again and again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Asian Bistro Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Smaller venue, interesting & creative menu, OUTSTANDING preparations! This newly opened "bistro" type restaurant is light, bright and fun. I've eaten here 3 times and have been met with friendliness, efficiency, short waits and delisciously original preparations such as a variety of tasty Pho's (Vietnamese rice noodle soup), PanAsian noodle dishes, curries, fried rice and of course varied appetizers, salads, drinks & deserts. And then there are the Chef's specials. Everything I've enjoyed has been fresh, crisp, very flavorful while displaying a rewardingly creative array of flavors & visual enjoyment. Everything is priced more than fairly ranging from a $4 Fried Tofu $14 for Large prawns & string bean (or eggplant) in garlic sauce, or Halibut in green curry. Hard to imagine any disappointment here.
As a Ps. This restaurant is owned & operated by Izumi, another outstanding Pan Asain creation at the other end of the block on Shadow View Drive in Eugene, Oregon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really Yummy food in a friendly atmosphere--definitely worth the little extra drive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We used to go to the Saigon Restaurant, which closed several years ago due to the death of the main chef. This new Vietnamese restaurant has one of the same cooks and waitpersons as did the Saigon. We missed the food and are happy to have it back in town. Worth driving a bit out of the way for!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho also viewed

 

Been to Pho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.