We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rye

Rye
444 E 3rd Street, Eugene, OR
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 529 Restaurants in Eugene
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: American, European, French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The world is a village, welcome to ours. We are a european village-inspired restaurant featuring pre-prohibition cocktails, a small but growing wine list and local craft beers and spirits. We look forward to seeing you.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quite good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Good menu and daily specials. I had the 'catch of the day:' silver salmon, and it was delicious. The 'polenta,' however, was not like anything I had ever had before.
I would go there again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    18
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Innovation That Works”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were fortunate to get reservations on a busy Friday night. The buzz about Rye had been so positive we were hoping it would live up to it's reputation.

Thankfully, it surpassed our expectations. (However, we encouraged the new owners to add noise absorbing fabrics or ceiling tiles to reduce the noise level.)

Our server graciously introduced us to Rye's concept for both beverages and meals.
The four of us made different choices for each course so that we could share multiple bites. I've noticed that previous reviewers were disappointed in portion sizes. As our server explained, portions are intended to be small so that you can sample more than one. So we added an extra entree which worked well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Or
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice Ambiance, Good Food, Small Pours”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We enjoyed this restaurant with family several days ago for dinner and drinks before the ballet. The server was attentive and helpful, the food was good. We had salmon, the beef ribs - very nice. Portion sizes were a little small - I was hungry 3 hours later. The martinis we had were definitely on the small side - so not a good value given their cost. I've heard from others that they have small pours on other drinks as well. So I wouldn't hang out here and drink, although they do have some fun drinks based on prohibition era recipes. Ambiance is very cool - so if the drinks were a better value - a fun place to hang out.
.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“interesting food and cocktails”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was a fun restaurant/bar- the cocktails were interesting and the food was good. not excellent but good. the server was very nice. the only reason I didn't give it a higher rating was the food, for the price wasn't outstanding.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A fun place for a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place specializes in old fashioned drinks. The menu is divided into pre prohibition drinks and post prohibition drinks, as well as their own concoctions. They are served in traditional glasses for that drink. Since the place is called Rye, many drinks are made with rye whiskey. The appetizers are yummy. I always like the charcuterie plate, which changes periodically. The dinners are comfort food, like pork chops and chicken. They are open for lunch and dinner and have an outside deck.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rye also viewed

 

Been to Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.