We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was nothing special” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Eugene

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Eugene to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Eugene
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1140 West 6th Avenue, Eugene, OR 97402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Eugene
A TripAdvisor Member
“It was nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2006

Booked this room through orbitz. Should have waited and got a room when we arrived but I thought it would save time to do it with orbitz. The room is not what the pictures on the web would lead you to believe. The bathroom is barely big enough to be usable. The door leaked. The pillows were junk. The towels were slightly larger than hand towels. We had prepaid through orbitz and then decided to go to the coast. The manager mis-lead me into thinking I had to contact orbitz for a refund. After coming back from the short two night trip I attempted a refund for the two nights we didn't stay and the manager pretended ignorance of us not being there for two nights. I got stuck for two nights I didn't use. I hope they spend the money on improvements and not on new leather coats. If you can, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    40
    22
    17
    25
See reviews for
26
32
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2005

Shabby would be the operative word to describe this place. 1) The mattressess/exposed box springs/pillows were permanently stained a yellow-brown colour. 2) Pillow loft was 3" high 3) Exposed plumbing pipes ran right beside my headboard. 4) There were many remnants of spills and stains on furniture. 5) Broken door to the bathroom woke others in the room during a trip to the washroom in the middle of the night. 6) There were no phone cables for the phone that apparently provided "Free local calls" 7) Initially finding the room was a challenge as the numbers were written in light blue pen on grey duct tape which was gingerly stuck to each door 8) There were no closets and the 'coat rack' attached to the wall had a table directly below it that couldn't be moved thus making the rack inoperable. 9) There were many large/wide cracks in the walls and the cracks that had been 'repaired' were very poorly done.
10) Many drawers were difficult to use because there were no handles.

Service was equally as shabby.

On a poisitive note, they have done a nice job of painting the exterior of the motel. It looks rather lovely from the street. The rooms however, are a completely different story.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2005

Rude manager: After making reservation online, we received written and verbal confirmation from the manager, Ken confirming our Non-Smoking room. Upon arrival, we got a Smoking Room with a very strong smell. Instead of resolving this issue, he blamed us for making a reservation online instead of calling the place directly. He said, all online reservations are made through a 3rd party, thus he can’t change our room without a charge. Since we couldn't cancel our reservation on the spot, we ended up paying extra. He offered no apology and even denied his confirmation.

Rooms: Rooms are dingy and shabby. Carpets are old and dirty; sheets are questionable.

Would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2005

best Value is a nice play to stay when you need a place to sleep. That being said, the room I received was not the Best. I was in Eugene for a Conference at U of O. I reserved this through the internet and accidentally reserved a smoking room, which I changed to non smoking for about $15 more per night. Room had a kitchen, but lacked anything that I might use it for. Had an oven but no pots, pans. Oven looked 30+ years old. Front door had a deadbolt that didn't lock with a newer bolt in door. Bathroom was very small, in which a large person would have trouble fitting. Window in bathroom was painted shut with rust/mold covering the frames. When first cleaned or after taking a shower, bathroom smelled like kitty litter that needs to be changed.

Had no iron. Lighting was questionable. I avoided the place, only sleeping there. I Would reccomend spending a little extra money and getting a name place rather than looking at the pictures on the website and assuming it to be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, NM
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2004

Checked into the hotel with a coupon on a Saturday night. Paid a few dollars more but that was ok since it was a Saturday night stay. We learned to ask to look at the room first before taking it. We noticed it was small (one full size bed for 2 people) but we were only going to stay one night so we thought it would be ok. The good things about the room is that it had a frig/microwave and high speed internet. It also had expanded cable. The bad thing was the fitted sheet was dirty and stained as if it was not changed from the previous room guest. The blanket was also stained but we just took it off the bed. We brought the dirty sheets to Managements attention. She was visible embarrassed and apologized and gave us new sheets immediately for us to replace. We understand there are larger rooms and if we happen to be in the area, we may consider trying this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2003

The Best Value Inn in Eugene is truly a great value. The clean, well-lit rooms are packed with conveniences for guests, ranging from combination microwave/refrigerators and premium movie channels in the standard rooms, to full-service kitchens in several larger rooms which resemble studio apartments rather than motel rooms. A decent free breakfast is also included, and there are guest laundry services available. If you want a clean, quiet motel close to downtown Eugene and the University of Oregon, this is the place to go. Management has recently enhanced the value of the rooms by installing high-speed DSL Internet access, allowing guests to access the Net whenever they want without tying up the switchboard.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Eugene

Address: 1140 West 6th Avenue, Eugene, OR 97402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Eugene 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Value Inn at Eugene, Oregon is a family and pet friendly extended stay hotel, offering deluxe services and features, value packages, and an ideal location near the Fairgrounds, University of Oregon, Hult Center, Downtown, and Eugene Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Eugene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Eugene Hotel Eugene

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Eugene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.