We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy hour sushi rolls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Izumi Japanese Restaurant

Izumi Japanese Restaurant
2773 Shadowview Dr, Eugene, OR
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 530 Restaurants in Eugene
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Happy hour sushi rolls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012 via mobile

We go there every chance we get. Sushi is amazing! The Rock n Roll is the BEST ever! Love, love, love this place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere. Great Food. Great Price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I first visited this restaurant last summer and I have been going back ever since. I take all of my friends there and it is definitely worth it. Happy Hour prices are very affordable with rolls ranging from $3-$7...with beer starting at $2-$3. Can't beat that. For the price the food is very good. I would recommend the Spicy Tuna, Spicy Salmon, Crunch monster, Vegas roll...all of which are excellent. There have been times in the past (on the restaurant side) with snooty hostesses but all of the wait staff in the lounge are super friendly. The lounge is dark and has a romantic but fun atmosphere. So it's perfect for a date or just hanging out with friends or co-workers. It gets pretty busy for the late night happy hour so there can be a bit of a wait for service/food but that is to be expected given the cheap prices. They are located in a great, clean area, which attracts more of an upscale crowd. I am here at least once a week...sometimes more depending. I will definitely be a repeat visitor.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“best sushi in Eugene, customer service needs a little work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We live in Eugene and have eaten at every sushi place in town and this is definitely the best sushi overall. We come here regularly. Hopefully, they are working on improving their customer service. We've had a few negative experiences there and have heard of more through friends. We hope they can iron this out because the food is so good and we don't want to see the restaurant disappear.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Had fabulous sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The food was fresh and tasted great, our server was excellant as well. The inital smell being fishy when we walked in was a concern but once past that we had a fantastic meal.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
1 review
“Horrible customer service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I wanted fish tacos off the Happy Hour menu. (because they are some of the best I've had for the price) Husband, kids and I arrived at 5:53 (according to the clock on the restaurant wall) and asked if we had time to order off the Happy Hour menu. Hostess told us Happy Hour was until 6pm and that we had time. She seated us at 5:55. Our server finally arrived at our table at 6:04 and after hearing that we wanted items off the Happy Hour Menu, said "...I'm sorry, Happy Hour ends at 6." I informed her that we were there before 6, and were told we had time to order. She told us the computer would not let her enter Happy Hour items as it was after 6 now. I told her we had been sitting there waiting for someone to come take our order and that it wasn't our fault that it was now after 6. She offered to go ask her manager if she could reduce the price of our items to the Happy Hour Price. She came back with an answer of "No."

I was very disappointed. I understand that we were cutting it close by arriving when we did. But, after being told that we still had time to order before 6, and then having to waiting 9 minutes for anyone to come to our table, to me, is poor customer service. We packed up our children and left.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izumi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Izumi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Izumi Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.