We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Lobster Prices, Low quality service and food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of McGrath's Fish House

McGrath's Fish House
1036 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 532 Restaurants in Eugene
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Veneta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Red Lobster Prices, Low quality service and food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Drinks took 15 minutes to arrive to our table and another 15 minutes to place the food order. The order did not go straight to the kitchen as our server visited with the next table for another 10 minutes.

Food finally came. The breaded Dover Sole was soggy and was served with dry fries and old vegetables that were luke-warm.

Bathrooms were clean, but outdated.

I won't go back. There are too many choices that surround this restaurant; Red Lobster is right around the corner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
443 reviews 443 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
503 helpful votes 503 helpful votes
“Loved The Menu Choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

It took me so long to chose but the wait staff continued to come over and ask if I had made up my mind in a polite and friendly manner. Totally appreciated her patience.

I decided on a mild white fish grilled and brushed with sauce, upgraded to the walnut/pear/blue cheese salad, sliced tomatoes and mixed veggies. Hubby got the grilled trout, upgraded to the shrimp salad with the same veggies. The salads were totally worth the extra charge and the warm sour dough bread was excellent. Hubby enjoyed his flavorful trout but my fresh pick fish was bland and somewhat dry around the edges. Veggies and tomato were perfect.

Even with my slightly disappointing fish choice, there are so many other things on the menu that looked wonderful as we watched them land on other tables that we will definitely come again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Tasty and good choices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had a light dinner here in April 2013. The menu was varied, and prices were reasonable for a mid-range seafood restaurant. My salad was fresh and crisp, and chowder was tasty and well seasoned. We had seats outdoors as it was a warm day and that was very pleasant. Service was efficient, attentive, but not over-bearing. Overall a very nice meal, pleasant atmosphere, nice folks.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Fish Out Of Water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was sadly disappointed with the crab-crusted trout when I visited. The trout tasted as though it had spent all day filleted in fresh water and washed away all flavor. There was too much onion taste in the covering, so much so, there was so sense of crab. I expected a full-bodied mouthful of flavor with each bite, but it was sorely lacking.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food in a casual setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

McGrath's Fish House has a wonderful variety of seafood and drinks. It's a very comfortable place to enjoy a good meal.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGrath's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to McGrath's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGrath's Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.