We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Ya

Sushi Ya
5 East 8th Avenue, Eugene, OR 97401
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #185 of 532 Restaurants in Eugene
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Staying at the Hilton and craving sushi, looked this place up on Trip Advisor. Even though the hotel recommended two other places, I chose this cuz it was so close.
Ate a great Bento Combo for dinner and then went back again for a combo lunch. The food is superbly prepared and presented. The portions are very satisfying. My lunch had an awesome FULL sized roll, not 4 pieces like many lunches. One of my all time fave sushi joints. And I live in LA where sushi is everywhere!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Needs improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

If the best fish was used to make their dishes the outcome would be great. The eel was fishy. The hamachi looked old and a bit dry. I was embarrassed for them. The tuna was okay not great. An otherwise pleasant time could have been great. The price was high when compared to the quality. Sorry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great sushi, decent prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The sushi is great, prices are about average for Eugene. The service is a bit slow - I love the pickled bean sprouts that they bring out in the begining, just wish they gave you more than 2 bites! They also have a pretty cool little rewards system that puts 5% of your tab on a giftcard for your next visit. They also have awesome happy hour specials and really fun specialty rolls! Try the Osaka roll! DELISH!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crater Lake, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“cute waitress, great sake, BAUM sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

her ability to put up with 3 weary travelers with a smile.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

I eat here about once a week and am always happy with the food. Price is reasonable to better than average. Service is generally good, but can be slow and understaffed during Eugene's monthly friday Art Walk (they could plan better for this).

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Ya also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Ya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Ya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.