We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really out of the way, but worth it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tomaselli's Pastry Mill & Cafe

Tomaselli's Pastry Mill & Cafe
14836 Hwy 38, Elkton, OR
541-584-2855
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Elkton
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really out of the way, but worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Tomaselli's Pastry Mill is located in Elkton,Oregon on highway 38. I stopped in for breakfast on my way to the coast. The wait staff was friendly and they had a nice menu. I had eggs over easy with biscuits and gravy a house specialty. With breakfast as good as it was, I'd recommend Tomaselli's to anyone stopping in on their way between Sutherland and the coast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Consistent Pleaser”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We always stop at Tomaselli's on our way to the Oregon coast for lunch. There are specials plus a regular menu. Pizza from a wood fired oven is only served Friday-Sunday. During the winter the restaurant is closed Monday and Tuesday. Recently I had an ahi sandwich which was delicious, and my husband had the pulled pork tacos which he really enjoyed. The cafe bakes it's own bread and we bought a loaf of the whole grain which is hearty and rustic. We also tasted the fennel and raisin which is unusual and wonderful for a change. There is a special dinner each Friday night and the menu is on their website (prime rib, scallops, etc.). We order lattes as we leave to fuel us for the rest of the drive down the south coast. If you are so inclined, there are wonderful bakery items as well, some even sugar free.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't forget to stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

In about 30 seconds you can drive through the small town of Elkton, Oregon, but don't forget
to stop at Tomaselli's Pastry Mill where they serve much more than yummi pastries, everything
from Lasagna and chicken to fettucini and prime rib on certain days, duck too. Better call or
go to their web site and check their extensive menu. We didn't know their menu was so big
when we stopped for a snack and had some delicious pastries right from the oven. Always
traveling with dogs we were also glad to find tiny tables and benches outside in the balmy
September air where we all could sit. I understand they also have dog cookies, but they were
out, but no problem we bring our own. We will be looking forward to having lunch there next
time we pass for it is a cozy place with very friendly service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Used to be fabulous”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We recently had dinner and were very disappointed. We went to for pizza but pizza wasn't available because they were out of cheese. So I settled for Lasagna. The Italian sausage was very scarce. For $18.95 I would have expected more. Sorry Marty I think you are failing!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gourmet Food With the Butterflies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stopped at Tomaselli's after a visit to the butterfly project at the Elkton Community Education Center and had our second happy surprise of the day. We entered the cafe and were immediately impressed by the bakery case filled with familiar but different versions of some of our favorites. The cafe has a pleasant, clean decor somewhat reminiscent of Southern Europe. The creative menu made it difficult to choose but we did and fortunately each of our party tried something different. The salads were fresh and combined familiar ingredients in new and tasty ways. The pear and cheese pizza was the most interesting with a gorgonzola type cheese topped with walnuts. I would have preferred pecans because I had to forgo the walnuts due to an allergy and the nuts were needed to marry all the flavors and texture together. The coffee and service were both good and I am looking forward to visiting Tomaselli's again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomaselli's Pastry Mill & Cafe also viewed

Been to Tomaselli's Pastry Mill & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomaselli's Pastry Mill & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.