We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dundee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard
Save
You added Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard to your Saves list
9600 NE Worden Hill Road, Dundee, OR 97115   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Dundee B&B and Inns
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

By all measures the Black Walnut Inn is a treasure. The location is breathtaking. We stayed in the tower room with gentle, cool breezes blowing through the windows all day and all night. The views of Mt. Hood and the countryside all around us were striking. No need for AC at that height! My wife loved the claw footed tub in our bathroom. Our every wish was catered to by Carol at the front desk. She was kind and very helpful in helping us select wineries that we might like to tour. This is our 2nd trip to Oregon wine country but she knew much more than we could have ever hoped to know about the area. The cooked to order breakfasts each day were a special treat. Although we never got to meet the owners it is clear that the entire property is a result of someone translating their life's dreams into reality. At least once in your lifetime, you should stay at a unique place like the Black Walnut Inn!

Room Tip: Stay in the Tower Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We wish to thank you for your kind words. Our staff along with ourselves work diligently to provide our guests with an unforgettable holiday. We hope you can return for more of that lovey relaxation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    16
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
100
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My wife and I occupied the Vineyard Suite for 3 nights in late May 2012. The view out of our room was over acres and acres of vineyards extending far into the horizon. The room itself was spacious, with a very large bathroom with a rain-head shower and a jetted tub. The Inn is ideally situated in the middle of the Dundee Hills area which is home to at least a dozen wineries within a 5 - 10 minute drive. The owners and innkeeper were helpful, but not intrusive, and the breakfasts were outstanding. Highly recommended for couples and those looking to relax.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
We wish to thank you for your kind words about your stay with us here at the Black Walnut Inn and Vineyard. We continue to work to improve our inn and our service so that we can exceed expectations. We look forward to hosting you again at the Black Walnut Inn. Karen and Neal Utz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I highly recommend a stay at Black Walnut Inn. The drive to the inn from the town of Dundee surpassed all expectations. On arrival, our breath was taken away. The breakfasts are over the top delicious and well presented, the wine is very good, the setting is fairy tale perfect and the innkeepers and staff are top notch. I will go again; I hope often.

Room Tip: I loved the view and setting of the Vineyard Suite but I doubt any would be lacking in any way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of our inn and of the area in general. We know that travelers who fine this special place in Oregon's Yamhill Valley are charmed by all that await them. We hope you are able to join us again in your future travels.

Karen and Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Amazing location, great service and advice but never felt smothered. The rooms were unique and cozy and the area is beautiful and feels secluded. We made a stop here over our honeymoon and definitely want to go back to celebrate an anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
We look forward to your return on your anniversary to this beautiful place in the world and wish to thank you for your kind review. It means a lot to hear that you had a grand time!

Karen and Neal
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This place is wonderful! The views in every place you sit in the entire house are beautiful. The pictures do it no justice. The decor is all high end and you can tell that no detail was looked over and no expense was spared. Everything from the towels and soaps, to fixtures, lighting and paintings are luxury. The owners,Karen and Neil, make you feel like family when you stay there. Neil gave us a long tour of his winery and Karen gave us many suggestions and set up all of our reservations for tours and dinners. Every breakfast was gourmet and so good! Carol the Innkeeper is so nice and fun to talk to. I would describe the Black Walnut Inn as luxury complimented with hospitality that makes you feel like it's your at home.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
As owners of the Black Walnut Inn we wish to thank you for your stay with us. We are thrilled that we continue to "live up to your expectations" and we appreciate your review. We look forward to a return visit from you in the future and hope that we can exceed your expectations.
We hope to see you in September with your friends.....
Thanks,
Karen and Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

What a truly lovely, relaxing, comfortable weekend. The Black Walnut has the luxury of a high end resort, while being as friendly and comfortable as someone's home. Karen and Neil made us feel so welcome. We highly recommend splurging for the master suite. The views are gorgeous. We watched the sun rise over Mt Hood, had a clear view of Mt. Jefferson, looked out over the on-sight vineyard toward Salem, and to other vineyards and what looks like old growth forest to the other side, with a beautiful sunset view. The suite itself is super comfortable, with lounging area, comfy bed, and the most beautiful bathroom I have been in. The tub has a view of the vineyard! Very convenient location- close to great wineries, a cute small town with restaurants and a great market. Definitely take advantage of their recommendations, including booking John's driver service for wine tours!! Well worth it.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
April 5, 2012

As owners of the Black Walnut Inn we wish to thank you for your stay with us. We are thrilled that we were able to "live up to your expectations" and we appreciate your review. We look forward to a return visit from you in the future. Thank you for your generous praise and compliments for our "little bit of Tuscany".



Karen and Neal Utz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This past weekend we spent our 3 rd or 4th visit at the Black Walnut Inn. Another perfect weekend at a perfect inn! I highly reccommend this place to everyone who enjoys top class accomodations, a friendly staff, incredible views and all of this is the heart of Oregon wine country. We had read a negative review on tripadvisor which we found hard to believe, and we were correct. There is nothing negative to report on the Black Walnut Inn! Proof some people just want to be unhappy. The rooms are beautiful, beds are very comfortable, and the breakfasts are out of this world. Service is outstanding anything you need Neil and Karen are right on it from helping us arrange a wine tour to great dinner reservations. The Black Walnut Inn is a great place for a couple to get away, relax, and have a wonderful time!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantasic, you cannot go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
As the owners of the Black Walnut Inn we wish to thank you for your review of your either 3 or 4th stay with us! We are always thrilled when we have return guests because we know that we are really doing the business right.

As always, we are inviting you back so hopefully we will see you this year and can share a glass of our wine with you.

Thank you,

Karen and Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard

Address: 9600 NE Worden Hill Road, Dundee, OR 97115
Location: United States > Oregon > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid vineyards, orchards and acres of forest the Black Walnut Inn offers luxurious surroundings in the heart of Oregon's wine country. Newly constructed and reminiscent of Tuscan villas of old, the inn is filled with modern art and amenities blended expertly with beautiful antiques, old world details and the works of local artisans. Nine unique and inviting suites await your visit, each designed with a touch of European elegance. Luxurious linens, soaking tubs, king and queen size beds and breathtaking views are just a few of the comforts you'll enjoy during your visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Walnut Hotel Dundee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.