We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem in the Oregon countryside - but not hidden for long..!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balch Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dufur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balch Hotel
Save
You added Balch Hotel to your Saves list
40 South Heimrich Street, Columbia River Gorge, Dufur, OR 97021   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dufur
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in the Oregon countryside - but not hidden for long..!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

My (new) wife and I stayed at the Historic Balch Hotel for 2 days after our wedding. We expected a low-key, relaxed mini-honeymoon in a pretty part of the state. Not only did we get that, but we also got a charming (and big!) room with a view of Mt. Hood, a luxuriously comfortable canopied bed, breezy and cool evenings, meticulously manicured grounds with a calming koi pond and sunflowers ready to pop, 2 fabulous breakfasts, a nearby bar with a surprising good burger and a bartender (Jen) who wasn't afraid to "tell 'em like she sees 'em," and several great conversations - with and without champagne - with 2 of the world's best inn-keepers, whose creativity and warmth made it difficult to leave. With a bike or a car, there's lots to do in the area, and Samatha and Jeff are a wealth of ideas.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
49
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Balch Hotel on a Saturday night and were delighted with the staff, ambiance, and general surroundings. Warm cookies before bedtime, AWESOME breakfast and very comfy beds. No TV or radios in the rooms which was perfect for relaxation. Great view of Mount Hood. Staying one night was so relaxing. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to get away from it all but also be comfortable.
Only downside is for those who can't navigate stairs well. There are no ground floor rooms so you must go up a flight of stairs for any guest rooms. Not an issue for us, we would definitely love to go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascadia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

I found this place by accident as I was trying to locate a good breakfast in Dufur, Oregon! I was originally going to be spending a quick night in The Dalles as a friend and myself were heading up to go snowshoeing near Dufur early the next morning. I couldn't arrive until 12:30 am, as I had to work late in Portland that night. The hostess, Samantha, arranged for a late arrival(with a plate of homemade cookies at the front desk to greet us), and early breakfast the next morning to accommodate us, even with my short notice! The hotel is historic, charming and very clean and comfortable based on my very brief stay. I hope to return again in the future and enjoy it more! I'm sure I missed much of what it has to offer. Very impressed!
Thank You Samantha!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

We stayed at the Balch Hotel to hear my favorite author, Jane Kirkpatrick. It was wonderful. We had a really wonderful dinner prepared by a chef from Portland. The room was nice with a private bath. Everything was clean and the service was outstanding. We plan to stay there again this summer. They also serve a wonderful breakfast. The owners Jeff and Samantha are very nice and helpful in every way.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunland Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We came though Dufur, Oregon on a Harley ride on our way to Portland, the Balch Hotel was the best place we stayed on our whole 4th of July hoilday.Samatha and Jeff the owners were so over the top with service and very geniune concern over our well being. The rooms were very lovely and clean.And the hotel felt like home. A very wonderful home.
We slepted comfortably, so quite in this country type hotel. Claw bath tub the best after a long ride on the bike. Perfect place, hammock in the beautiful yard of flowers.Large outside patio for visiting or having your morning coffee before a delicious breakfast.
We will be back, over and over.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We spent one night in a room with a private bath. The hotel & grounds are lovely & the owners are super nice! We really enjoyed our stay. Dufur is a cute town...not much to do but we took a nice walk & had a couple beers at the local bar which made for some fun people watching. The breakfast the Balch was delicious although fairly sugary (is that even a word??). Next time we go we'll get the suite for sure!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembley
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

We chose Balch Hotel on our way from Portland through the Columbia River Gorges and towards Bend (Oregon). The hotel is a real Gem. Dufur is a small town in the countryside. We followed the directions the hotel provided when they confirmed the reservation and driving through the forests was great specially that we had a view of Mount Hood all along. We really enjoyed the character of the place. The room we stayed in was very good. We loved the grounds also. The highlight of our stay was the breakfast we had in the morning. It is the best breakfast we have ever had in a hotel. It was a real gourmet experience. The quiche and muffin are the best we have had. If we come back to Oregon we will definitely spend time there again. We really felt at home.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balch Hotel

Address: 40 South Heimrich Street, Columbia River Gorge, Dufur, OR 97021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Dufur
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dufur
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel operating as a B&B! Relax. Reconnect. Rejuvenate. Come with a group for a fun gathering of friends, or choose a quiet romantic get-a-way for you and your sweetie. We hope to surprise you with this gem in the country. Visit the sunny side of Oregon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balch Hotel Dufur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.