We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undiscovered gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balch Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dufur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balch Hotel
Save
You added Balch Hotel to your Saves list
40 South Heimrich Street, Columbia River Gorge, Dufur, OR 97021   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dufur
Lyle, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Undiscovered gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a romantic getaway ~ far away from technology and city lights. The owner/operators have thought about all needs and possible comforts. Samantha greats you with delicious, homemade cookies. All rooms are decorated individually ~ many having original works of art. Music plays downstairs. There are books and games in the salon. The Balch Hotel has been redone in a way to retain it's history.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skirwin, Owner at Balch Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for the glowing report! We love that people are moved by their experience to write reviews and share with others. These the best kinds of recommendations we can get. See you back on the sunny side soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
49
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here in August on the last night of a 9 day/2,700 mile motorcycle trip and, anticipating being road weary by this point, we splurged for the king suite room with the two person jacuzzi tub when we booked. It was sooo worth it, and the view from the room was beautiful. Everyone working there was super friendly, even helping me round up bubble bath and candles to surprise my very saddle soar wife.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you appreciate history, or character, or supporting small enterprise, or personalized attention from a sincere and friendly staff, then you should go out of your way to stay here.

If you prefer pre-fab, or cookie-cutter, or predictable, or plastic, or forced smiles by uniformed drones, you should not stay here.

This is a historic hotel in an antique building. You will have an old-timey experience and it will be wonderful, but some of the things you expect to find in modern lodgings will not be available. If this concerns you, call the hotel to ask them about whatever it is.

Room Tip: Remember that this is a historic hotel in an antique building. You will have an old-timey experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

On the way to Montana from Vancouver (Washington), my husband and I were invited by our friends Andy and Beth to spend a night in the Balch suite It was a wonderful surprise: everything in the hotel was exquisite: the premises, the gardens, our magnificent room. Most memorable for me was that the owner, Samantha, a lovely woman of artistic temperament, invited us to lie on the lawn to chat and watch the stars.
If you are traveling through the Northwest of the EE.UU., be sure to stop by Durfur at the Baltch Hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We don't usually write hotel reviews, but our stay at the Balch Hotel was so wonderful we wanted to let people know how special this place is. The grounds are beautiful, the hotel is wonderfully restored and detailed, and we stayed in a beautiful big room with a private bath and a view of Mount Hood. Breakfast was delicious - especially the zucchini bread. Most special was the hospitality. We arrived late because of our ambitious itinerary - there were delicious chocolate chip cookies awaiting our arrival. It was the first night of our honeymoon - Samantha not only remembered, but had something special waiting for us at breakfast. We feel like we not only had a wonderful evening, we made friends. Thank you so very much for an unforgettable stay. We're telling everyone we know, and we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked a corner suite at this hotel while still in TX by reviewing the TA reviews. This place is from another era. It is great shape and the owners take great pride and it is very obivious they love their hotel. We were on the 3rd floor facing West, the temp was hot and the room only had a portal air conditioner and a small fan. we arrived about 3pm and the room was hot, and the room did not cool down until late evening. we had a jacuzzi BUT no shower....how do you wash you hair in the sink or tub? we spent the afternoon in the shade on the outside patio. if you want ice you need to go to the store a block away to get some and before 7pm. the market has a very good selection of food and other stuff. A typical very small town.
we skipped dinner because of a big lunch. breakfast was very, very good and a nice suprise.
overall we enjoyed our stay since we were 1 of only 2 couples...not normal for the hotel.
be aware that some rooms share bath rooms.
this was a nice experience overall. makes you realize life is always a TREAT.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skirwin, Owner at Balch Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review! While the room has the a/c unit we'll have our staff check the temperature in the afternoon on hot days and start the unit early. Good tip. We will add this to our "to do" list in order to have even better customer service. Also will be looking into changing out the down spout on the Jacuzzi tub and adding a shower wand attachment. Hope you enjoyed the beautiful view of Mt. Hood! Thanks for the visit from the Lone Star State.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We recently booked a room at this lovely hotel on a last minute whim. We were so glad we did. My husband and I enjoyed the comfy room with a beautiful view of Mt. Hood. The owner was very pleasant and helpful and made it a great experience. The breakfast was unbelievable and the staff catered to people's individual food needs. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balch Hotel

Address: 40 South Heimrich Street, Columbia River Gorge, Dufur, OR 97021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Dufur
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dufur
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel operating as a B&B! Relax. Reconnect. Rejuvenate. Come with a group for a fun gathering of friends, or choose a quiet romantic get-a-way for you and your sweetie. We hope to surprise you with this gem in the country. Visit the sunny side of Oregon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balch Hotel Dufur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.