We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool historic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balch Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dufur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balch Hotel
Save
You added Balch Hotel to your Saves list
40 South Heimrich Street, Columbia River Gorge, Dufur, OR 97021   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dufur
Vancouver WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool historic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed on a Saturday night and attended a concert at Maryhill Winery. The hotel had arranged a private shuttle at a reasonable price for guests going to the concert. The Hotel is beautifully decorated and has a beautiful view of Mt Hood from the front steps and balconys on the front. Terry and Frank were so very nice and helpful. There are homemade chocolate chips cookies when you arrive and check in and Terry took us up to the room and went over the basics. Our room did not have a private bath just a sink and it was fine. They have claw foot tubs with a shower. It is like being back in time. Very nice! Nice to not have a TV too! The breakfast the next morning was delicious!
We will be back - loved the hotel, and Terry and Frank are wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
49
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

My partner and I have stayed at The Balch Hotel many times over the past 3-4 years. It is off the beaten-path from the main parts of the Columbia River Gorge (30 minutes to Hood River) but is worth the trek for a quiet get-away.

What makes it special?
- The immediate curb appeal. It's a 100-yr old hotel that has been refurbished and has a beautifully maintained, large lawn and patio area (many weddings there)
- The owners could not be nicer and exemplify high customer service to their employees
- The rooms and bathrooms may be old but they're very clean. I'm usually not one to share bathrooms in a B&B style hotel, but at The Balch it doesn't bother me since everything is well-maintained. They also have rooms with en-suite baths for those who aren't into sharing a bath
- Breakfasts are always quite good -- usually a yogurt parfait, a muffin and a quiche. With lost of Hood River Roasters' coffee

So...drive off the beaten path through the rolling wheat fields and/or through the Mt Hood Natl Forest to Dufur, Oregon and spend a night or two at The Balch!

Room Tip: The Ladies' Sitting Room has a great view of Mt. Hood and its own sink (shared bathroom)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Three of us came for an overnight stay on a Saturday and loved it! Teri was incredibly helpful in making our visit great. She took good care of us and gave us perfect advice about what to while we were there. The breakfast was lovely and excellent! Thank you Balch Hotel - Jody, Peter and Mary :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Balch Hotel is a delightful get-away for anyone in the Pacific Northwest. The hotel has been fully restored keeping its history intact, but with plumbing that works and wi-fi in the parlor. We were there on a perfect, sunny weekend, made for relaxing with a good book and tasting wine. The view of Mt. Hood was amazing. That's something Tuscany doesn't have!

The occasion was my birthday in early June and all the staff and owners were friendly, gracious and helpful at all times. We attended one of the monthly Supper Clubs and enjoyed yummy ribs and other tasty treats. All guests receive a gourmet breakfast - quiche, homemade breads and we had a delicous fruit parfait.

For a Saturday night you might need to reserve early if you want a room with a private bathroom, but there are several bathrooms off the hall for the other rooms to share. I doubt if anyone ever has to wait.

This is a great place to go for a romantic get-away, a wedding, or a base for wine tasting or fishing/rafting on the Deschutes River. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our first time staying here and we loved it! This is an elegant hotel run like an upscale bed-and-breakfast. We stayed in room 14 with a view of Mt. Hood. Being on a budget, we chose a room without a private bath, but that turned out to be fine...the bath was just two rooms away and we felt comfortable. Watched the most amazing sunset behind the mountain on our second night. The grounds of this hotel are gorgeous! Spent a very pleasant day writing out under the trees near the pond/waterfall. Being out in the country was very relaxing and a great weekend getaway. Less than 2 hours from Portland - we stopped at the Gorge Discovery Center in The Dalles on our drive out. The Gorge is so pretty in Spring. Purple lupine and bright yellow flowers blooming everywhere.

Room Tip: Light sleepers, bring sleep mask
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

I love living at the beach- really, I do. But this winter the rain came close to making me barking mad. My dear sis and I headed to Eastern Oregon and the Balch Hotel for an overnighter. Imagine our delight to find out we had the entire place to ourselves! Samantha the host/owner, ( and her old ladydawg, Kaluha,) greeted us warmly with fresh baked cookies and we had our choice of either room in our price range that faced Mt Hood. The hotel is absolutely spotless and every tiny detail is attended to.Don't look for a tv, cutesy woo teddy bears and ribboned straw hats scattered about. None of that Twee at the Balch. We took a stroll around Dufur, a quiet farming town. Then hung out in their well apppointed, cozy library. Wanda and Mo took care of us the next morning with a wonderful breakfast and sent us on our way with leftovers wrapped up for a snack later on. If you are planning a quick, stress relieving getaway, wedding or reunion there, how much better could it get? Round out the trip with visits to the Discovery Center in the Dalles, 6th Street Bistro in Hood River, Maryhill Museum and the Maryhill Winery across the Columbia River, and you've got a great mini vacation.And leave your raincoats at home. :)

Room Tip: Go during the middle of the week for best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prineville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

42 members of our family met at the Balch Hotel from Friday to Sunday March 25-27, 2011. On Sat. night they reserved the entire hotel for "just us" even though 2 rooms were empty. We had a delicious gourmet dinner on Sat. night catered by a Portland chef. Everything was absolutely wonderful. Samantha and Sandra were so helpful in every way. The rooms are clean and the bedding and pillows are some of the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel.

The week-end was a wonderful step back in time, with no TV or phones. The younger generations played a variety of board games and the older ones talked and shared memories. Some of the older ones had grown up in Dufur, but at that time the hotel was a private residence and they had never been inside it. Samantha and Jeff have done a wonderful job of restoring much of the original woodwork, floors and decor of the original hotel from the early 1900's.

You do have to be able to climb a flight or two of stairs to stay there and many of the rooms share a bath. But these things add to the charm and help bring the guests a century back in time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balch Hotel

Address: 40 South Heimrich Street, Columbia River Gorge, Dufur, OR 97021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Dufur
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dufur
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel operating as a B&B! Relax. Reconnect. Rejuvenate. Come with a group for a fun gathering of friends, or choose a quiet romantic get-a-way for you and your sweetie. We hope to surprise you with this gem in the country. Visit the sunny side of Oregon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balch Hotel Dufur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.