We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bucket list” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diamond

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diamond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Diamond
Save
You added Hotel Diamond to your Saves list
10 Main Street, Diamond, OR 97722   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diamond
Ashland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“bucket list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

the Steens, Frenchglen, Diamond, lava flows and all the stunning geography and wildlife should be experienced - and staying at the century old Hotel Diamond with its genuine hospitality and hearty delicious meals is a must.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland OR
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Built in 1898, the Diamond Hotel is a welcoming place to spend a few days unhooked to TV, cell phone and other modern paraphenalia. The reason to go here is to explore the eastern Oregon wide open territory, to relax on the huge porch of the hotel and to enjoy meeting others there for the same reason. While there recently, we met a girl who was there to pick up her second wild horse from one of the two herds in the area. We spent one day on our own driving lazily through the Malheur Wildlife Refuge at times going the same speeds as two juvenile golden eagles. Breakfast is included in the cost of the room and is an extended, do-it yourself continental meal. There is plenty to eat, but not a hot, cooked breakfast. Then there is dinner which costs extra and is worth it. Served family style, most of the dishes are down home American ones cooked well. One of the many advantages of staying here is that this is the pick up location for an all day tour with Dick Jenkins who is a member of a pioneering family. He drives a comfortable van, explains much of the area including a great drive over the Steens mountains, gives you ideas of what the locals think of living in an out of the way place and then.......brings out a table, chairs, tablecloth, beer and wine and a wonderful lunch. Reservations are needed for the tour and we felt it was the best way to enjoy this special corner of Oregon.

Room Tip: There are both rooms with private bath and shared bath. Plenty of bathrooms to go around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We arrived to check in for a two night stay in late July 2011. We had two couples in our party. We had made reservations sixonths in advance.

Only to be told that because of a wedding, we could only stay one night at the hotel, then they were sure we would like staying in a house they rent out three miles away. Not a warm reception.

Then, dinner that night....ugh! The web site makes it sound like you had entree choices. Nope! Family style, which was Cornish game hens....take em or leave em. Three of our party really felt cheated.

After dinner relax on screened porch? Not possible due to LOTS of biting mosquitoes inside the screened porch! On top of that the porch needed swept, and the used ashtrays with cigarette butts needed dumping.

Okay, not a good experience. Would recommend Steens Country Cabin in Andrews, Fields Station in Fields, or the Horseshoe Motel in Burns as very much better.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We spent 2 nights during our trip through eastern Oregon. We made reservations after learning the French Glen hotel was full and wanted to find lodging that wasn't too far away. As it happened--we lucked out. Hotel Diamond is a wonderful place to stay. We thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful surroundings, excellent service, delicious meals, and friendly atmosphere. We didn't miss TV, wifi and all the rest. That is the charm of staying at the hotel -- enjoying the Malheur Wildlife Refuge and taking in the history of the area. We highly recommend the Hotel and are bringing family with us to visit again in 2011.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed with extended family: sub-teen through grandparents. Had a great time. In the past we had all camped in Eastern Oregon a lot, we weren't surprised by mosquitoes, few people, or great distances. With this background, we enjoyed our stay at the friendly, comfortable and old-fashioned Diamond Hotel. The people went out of their way to help make our stay special. The food was varied and very tasty. Other guests were friendly and fun to be with. Out stay here made trips to the special areas of the Steens Mountain, Alvord Desert and Catlow Valley easy day trips. We will certainly recomment the hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

We were hesitant to visit Hotel Diamond but had heard so many good things that we decided to go anyway. We now return each year. For those of you who can tear yourselves away from the reality TV, blackberries, Wifi and constant bellyaching, you will find that Hotel Diamond is a place to relax and enjoy the surroundings. The “unique” furniture, or as some like to call it “antique” furniture, was fitting for the well, renovated historic hotel. The food is excellent of often comes from family recipes that have been passed down for generations. There is a small cabin behind the restaurant where we ate lunch, played pool, enjoyed a game of cards, and visited with the friendly owners. The most relaxing time we’ve had was spent at Hotel Diamond and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Here's my review of the DIAMOND HOTEL. What a PIT....ugh....other than the screen porch and the comfy couch in the entry way, what IS there to like....the mosquitos, or would it be the uncomfortable/squeeky bed...or maybe it is the "unique" furniture ah-la Salvation Army, or the carpeting in the bathroom ...or it could be the no cable, no puzzles, no games, no wifi or no books. Even my husband took a sleeping pill....and he's NEVER had one before. I don't recommend it...charm....that's not what I'd call it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamond

Address: 10 Main Street, Diamond, OR 97722
Location: United States > Oregon > Diamond
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diamond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hotel Diamond Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diamond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.