We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value on the Coast - quiet, great view, clean, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort to your Saves list
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3115 NW Hwy 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Lakewood, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best value on the Coast - quiet, great view, clean, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

We booked this motel because my BF had stayed there as a child. After reading the reviews here, I was a bit antsy. But the price was very tempting. Cheapest thing I could find in the area.

I booked a King Fireplace Whirlpool room in the newest building, which is supposed to be adults only. We were disappointed that after booking way ahead online, we were given a downstairs room. We should have called and specified a top floor room. Overall, we were VERY PLEASED with our room, and ordinarily the ground floor room wouldn't have been a problem, but one night the people above us CLEARLY had several children in their room. There was lots of little feet running back and forth for a few hours. They quieted down after 9 pm, however, and it wasn't a problem any other night. The gas fireplace is great. The big screen LCD TV was AWESOME. The whirlpool tub is in the bathroom, not a hot tub with a view of the ocean, but what the heck. The view CANNOT BE EQUALLED, even at all the other pricey resorts. The furniture and fixtures were clearly newer and very comfortable. The shower head, however.... Clogged. Got barely a trickle out of it. Had a tough time showering. Found this true up and down the coast, however, at every place we've ever stayed. I'm so tempted to just bring my own shower head with me when I travel. Also, there was some un-repaired water damage to the ceiling of the shower, and I heard numerous odd drips on our bedroom ceiling throughout the night, making me think they have a big leak problem that needs to be addressed.

The restaurant is mediocre. Don't go there at night expecting a view - the windows turn into mirrors after dark. Go early and enjoy the sunset. Recommend eating in the Bar, it's much quieter and nicer. For a "resort" you'd expect the restaurant to tone it up a bit, but the loud "Oldies rock" blaring in the restaurant was really a turn off. The Bar at least turns the music off and we weren't bothered by the low-level on the football games on TV. And it's carpeted. Which made a big difference. The restaurant is really just a Denny's experience, if that. The steamers are the best we've ever had anywhere, but everything else we ate was mediocre. BF liked his halibut, but I wasn't impressed.

WiFi worked smoothly and was fast. Pool was okay, as was the hot tub and sauna. We had it to ourselves on a blustery New Year's Eve. Not posh, but nothing to complain about. For the price it was EXCELLENT! There is a beach access stairway, and we recommend going down for beachcombing. Just sitting on our deck watching the Surf was a great experience for us. We really enjoy the winter storms and this is a great place to just enjoy the storms in a cozy room.

If you go, demand a top-floor King Bed room in the adults-only building, and don't spring for the kitchen unless you're staying a week. The microwave/fridge was perfectly adequate for us for three days. The motel is right off 101, but you can't hear the road noise at all - just the pounding surf. For the price, it's a real steal. Just be sure you CALL and don't just book online, and demand the room you want.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    86
    35
    24
    14
See reviews for
49
132
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

I called to make a reservation to stay a night in one of the two-bedroom suites. When I told the receptionist that it would be 4 adults and 1 child, a two-year old, she let me know that they will not put a group with a child in a 2nd floor unit. She explained that it is because there are "16 concrete steps leading up to the front door" implying that it was a safety hazard. I told her I was not concerned with it and that we would carry the child up to the suite. She later went on to say that they have "older people" who stay in their hotel and would not put up wih the noise of a child. She stated that I "needed to promise her that I would be able to control the child because if there was one complaint from a guest, we would have to leave." She went on to say that they have guests who stay at the hotel for multiple days and that it wouldn't be fair to the people who have a longer reservation. Needless to say, I was appalled by this conversation and I WILL NEVER STAY AT THE SURFRIDER INN!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfstop, front desk manager at Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2010
We're sorry that our good intention for our guests didn't turn out nicely for other potential guests. We could have expressed ourselves better.

Naturally we like to accommodate all of our guests including guests who travel with kids. Although to ensure our guests' comfortableness, we do try to place guests who travel with kids to be on the bottom floor, therefore bottom floor guests can rest well & peacefully. As for the parents who travel with kids, they won't have to worry all the time about their kids possibly jumping, hopping or running around the room to cause uncomfortableness of the bottom floor guests, therefore parents can rest, too.

Under some circumstances, if the parents are confident that their kids are very quiet wouldn't make a noise, we have no problem to place them on the top floor. If once we receive complaint though from downstairs guest, we do have no choice but to call you to remind you the issue.

We hope our future potential guests can understand our point of view, and not be deterred by it.

Sincerely,

Surfrider Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

The Inn is nice, but the resturant needs better trained servers, chilled salad and dressings.).
Our server was working on a large group and the younger woman steppted into the big breach (she got an extra tip too.
I had green salad two times in our four day stay and both times it was not chilled, along with the dressing.
The crab louie had lots of crab, but it too was not chilled. I would recommened staying, but by pass the resturant.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis OR
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

There were two of us in the party.....both senior citizens....was a wonderful weekend spent at the Surfrider in Depoe Bay. This was our first time staying with them and we truly enjoyed our accomodations, the food, the weather and most of all the views from our room and the restuarant. We had been planning a weekend at the coast for a year, wanted to try someplace in Depoe Bay, and the rates, the friendly staff, the cleanliness of all areas was greatly appreciated. We have and will continue to recommend this hotel to our friends, family and business accociates.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We recently stayed here for a short weekend getaway and we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very nice and spacious. We stayed in a king deluxe which had a fireplace, whirlpool and kitchenette (just a microwave & sink). They also provided dishes and utensils to use - even a corkscrew. What a nice thought.
Our room was #69. It was on the end of the building on the top floor. It had a great view of the ocean right from our room and so we sat with the fireplace going and the windows open to hear the ocean waves.
We didn't try the restaurant but I think we would have enjoyed it since it had such a great view too.
One word of caution - they don't seem to have a hot water regulator so when filling up the whirlpool tub my husband scalded his hand. The hot water took a long time to warm up but when it did it was HOT! You could also get scalded just taking a shower if you weren't careful.
Overall it was a very enjoyable stay and we look forward to visiting again. Plus if you go in the off season you can get a great deal too!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

16 years ago we stayed at the Surfrider Resort on our first trip to Oregon. When we decided to revisit the Oregon Coast for our 26th wedding anniversary, we decided to spend it at the Surfrider. It did not disappoint. The view from our room was spectacular, even spotted a whale. The room we got, one with a fireplace, kitchen and jacuzzi, was very comfortable and we used it to full advantage.

The staff was helpful and provided us with 2 splits of sparkling wine on the house when they learned it was our anniversary. The restaurant is a real convenience and also has wonderful views of the ocean and oceanside cliffs.

When we come back to the Oregon Coast, we will be staying at the Surfrider.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

I have stayed at this resort at least four times. The Surfrider is one of my favorite spots on the Oregon coast. The views are amazing, the rooms are nice and cozy. I really love sitting by the gas fireplace with the window open so I can hear the ocean. I also love how there is "private" beach access. The resturant is also quite nice, great views, good service and food with resonable prices. I will and do continue to come back to this resort due to the great location, views, food and resonable price. I have only used the hot tube on one vist, it was nice but small.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#2 of 5 in Depoe Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
3.8 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
6.2 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
10.3 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#22 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ashley Inn and Suites
Ashley Inn and Suites
#10 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort

Address: 3115 NW Hwy 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfrider Resort is Nestled atop a bluff overlooking Fogarty Creek and the Pacific Ocean, located just two miles north of Depoe Bay, Between Lincoln City and Newport. While at the Surfrider,visit Depoe Bay, The Worlds "Smallest Harbor" and famous for whale watching. Reserve a trip for deep sea fishing, or Visit Newport for the outstanding Oregon Coast Aquarium, 3 miles north for golfing, or simply take in the sights at the Surfrider where whales play, eagles soar, seals napping, and the sun sets over the ocean. We have Banquet rooms that can hold up to 100 people. Wedding's, Birthdays and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfrider Resort Depoe Bay
Surfrider Hotel Depoe Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.