We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kitschy, cute, clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trollers Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Depoe Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trollers Lodge
Save
You added Trollers Lodge to your Saves list
355 SW Hwy 101, W side of 101 At Graham St., Depoe Bay, OR 97341   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Depoe Bay B&B and Inns
Portland, OR, US
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“kitschy, cute, clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

I've taken family and visiting friends here several times in the past two years. We love the kitschy seashell/nautical decoration (with price tags). It's a cute, clean place to stay after exploring the coast and within blocks of Depoe Bay's storefronts and whale watching.

As the name implies, its an old fisherman's motel with small utilitarian rooms that have been lightly remodeled and warmly decorated. Most recently, we stayed in a two-bedroom unit with a kitchen. The furniture was not suitable for all-day lounging (i.e. one loveseat for a four-person room), but good for breakfast and planning the day's outings. Some of the units face the ocean and are marked-up accordingly. We usually stay in units facing the highway which are surprising quiet -- even with the windows open all night. The rooms are equipped with DVD/VCR, free wi-fi, and free DVD rentals from the office.

The couple that seem to own/operate the motel are very friendly and offer suggestions of things to do and local happenings.

  • Liked — kitschy charm, easy walk to Depoe Bay storefronts, good central coast location
  • Disliked — small rooms, living room furniture
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
16
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gresham, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

Stayed here a couple of times. The rooms are inexpensive and quaint, but can be a tad bit small. Some of the decor is for sale, which makes it a little tacky. Overall, though, it's a good value. There's not much to see/do in Depoe Bay, but if you want to get away from the more crowded Lincoln City and Newport, this is a good place to stay. They don't take AMEX, so watch out.

  • Liked — Location, affordable, quiet, clean
  • Disliked — A little small, slightly tacky
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

Enjoyed the lodge. Clean grounds, nice staff, spacious room. Right near the business row next to "the world's smallest harbor."
No complaints whatsoever. We'll be back.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

We spent the weekend at the Cummings House which is managed by Trollers Lodge. The house itself is nothing special and in fact could use a major change-out of furniture, but the view is spectacular and we saw many whales. For $160 a night, we thought the place was over priced because the furniture is old and uncomfortable, but if whale watching is on the agenda, this is a superb location. Due to the windows being fixed, the door needs to be open in order to hear the surf from inside the house, but there is a nice picnic table and a bench to sit on that overlook the ocean and the fishing boats coming into the bay. If the weather is favorable, and for us it was, it's a nice, private area for eating, reading or watching the sunset. The house is kept clean and the kitchen is fairly well equipped.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The furniture
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trollers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trollers Lodge

Address: 355 SW Hwy 101, W side of 101 At Graham St., Depoe Bay, OR 97341
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small motel, owner occupied and operated. We also manage several oceanfront homes. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trollers Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.