We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a View!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mazatlan Mexican Restaurant

Mazatlan Mexican Restaurant
221 SW Highway 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9626
541-765-7661
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 28 Restaurants in Depoe Bay
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Description: When you want a satisfying and authentic Mexican dining experience, come to Mazatlan Mexican Restaurant. We offer a full menu of mouthwatering Mexican specialties, all prepared with the freshest ingredients available. We are family run and operated, proudly serving the Northwest for over 30 years, Lincoln County for over 20 years, and now Depoe Bay for 3 years. Now the best Mexican cuisine is right here in your neighborhood; For a south-of-the-border atmosphere right here in Depoe Bay, visit Mazatlan Mexican Restaurant today!
Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a View!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The day we ate here we had checked out from Whales Rendezvous and came here with Joe and Dian, our new friends who own the B&B. On their suggestion we ordered the Chicken in Creme Sauce. It was a huge portion and very good! We should have ordered one and split it. The chips and salsa were hot and delish! We also ordered Pico de Gallo and it was freshly made and excellent!
Our experience was great and combined with good company and a wonderful view!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gleneden Beach, Oregon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Mexican in a lovely, cozy environment with a peek of the ocean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The Depoe Bay Mazatlan is one of many owned by a single family all over the state of Oregon. The food is good, coming in huge portions, with specialties like pollo alla crema and various mariscos. What makes the place special is the decor--they've turned a tiny storefront into a fun, tile-and-mural-and-ocean view retreat.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This is the one in DePoe Bay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The food had no flavor. They need to realize Mexican food is all about flavor, chilies, cumin, mexican oregano, etc. The guacamole was NOT guacamole. It was slimy green stuff that did not taste anything like quacamole. The Pico di Gallo (salsa) was made the day before. It was all wilted and tasteless. They served me a plate of beans that were cold like they just came out of the refrigerator. Horrible place to eat

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Del Taco or Taco Bell?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

The food is not spicy. I thought I was eating taco bell food. Great view though. They need to invest in some hot chili.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Average food, great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

A good place to go because you get a million dollar view for a $8 entree price. The food is average gloopy platters of "Mexican" ... not especially spiced well but tastes fine. It's fine if you don't expect more.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mazatlan Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Mazatlan Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mazatlan Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.