We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whale Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Whale Cove Inn to your Saves list
Whale Cove Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 S Hwy 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suites & Eats Package
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Lake Oswego, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We chose this Inn for the view, quality, and location. All were outstanding. However, even better was the wonderful reception we received every time we entered the hotel lobby: The General Manager, Sarah, made us feel like we were part of a great family that has a good sense of humor. We and our guests from Ohio absolutely loved our stay and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: There are only 8 suites, and they're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    17
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
176
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Spent a very relaxing evening at Whale Cove Inn. Our room was immaculate and well appointed. The balcony had a spectacular view, the weather didnt cooperate and we were unable to use the outdoor jucizzi. My only comment was the room was very warm and we were unable to control the heat in the room. To keep the room cool through the evening we had to leave the balcony door wall open.

Room Tip: The top floor balconies are open to the elements, the lower floor balconies are covered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley WA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We enjoyed two wonderful nights at the Whale Cove Inn. We had stayed at their sister property before when the kids were with us, but not this time. It was amazing! The lobby area is open and has a fantastic view. The rooms are luxurious with wonderful views, spacious living area, modern bathroom, and comfy bed.

The staff is gracious, and the breakfast was great! It was the perfect get-away weekend in the most romantic spot you could find. The sound of crashing waves is a nice bonus!

Only downside was the lack of Internet access. For what they charge, they should invest in good quality service to all rooms.

We will definitely go again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowsnest Pass, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Whale Cove Inn is a vacation destination - view marine wildlife from the vantage point of your suite balcony, listen to the crash of waves against rock, enjoy the serenity of sunset against the backdrop of the Pacific tide-water. The rooms are beyond expectations with every detail perfect from in-room coffee, a relaxing soaker tub on the deck outside the suite, twin sink ensuite and very comfortable mattress. The on-site restaurant provides a very fine hot breakfast and great gourmet dinners with great staff. Within walking distance is a state wayside park and a short drive north brings one to the Depoe Bay attractions - sea walk, harbor and shops. This place is a dream.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I could have just relaxed all day in the huge, beautiful suite and watched the waves crash into the cove. It really was one of the most amazing views I have ever witnessed! We loved the soaking tub on the deck. The shower and bed will spoil anyone! Breakfast was a nice added touch and we enjoyed it very much! We only wish we would have had more time to enjoy the room and views!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niwot, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I've been driving by Whale Cove for forty years, always curious to see the cove. The best way is to stay at the Whale Cove Inn. I was not disappointed. The setting is magical, the room was outstanding and the staff was wonderful. I loved waking up to the sound of the surf outside our sliding glass doors. The price of our room was a stretch but worth every dollar. Staying at the Whale Cove Inn was on my bucket list. Now I smile as I check this wish off and know my husband and I will return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Found the Whale Cove Inn on the internet and I'm happy I did. This is a luxury B&B with wonderful accomodations, views, and breakfast. Very secluded, and you can miss it on the road if you do not know where you are going. I would highly recommend this if you are traveling up the coast. It is worth, at least a one night stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have view of the cove, so I'm sure they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Whale Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Cove Inn

Address: 2345 S Hwy 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale Cove Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mile south of Depoe Bay Oregon on the winding, magical Coast Highway, a new refuge of romance on the rugged Oregon Coast has been born: The Whale Cove Inn, one of North America and Central Oregon Coast's most memorable and exclusive luxury boutique inns. Perched high above the serene expanse of Whale Cove, a pristine marine refuge, the Whale Cove Inn cocoons its guests in luxury - from king-sized Tempur-Pedic beds to outdoor Jacuzzis on private decks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Whale Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale Cove Hotel Depoe Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whale Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.