We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mondavi Winery of Oregon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine Serene

Domaine Serene
6555 NE Hilltop Lane, Dayton, OR 97114
503 864 4600; 866 864 6555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 Attractions in Dayton
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Minneapolis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Mondavi Winery of Oregon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

When you think about the best winery in Napa, you think of Mondavi and all that the House of Mondavi did for American wines. In Oregon, Pinot Noir country, think Domaine Serene-- they have the same detailed approach to every aspect of winemaking as Mondavi. We had an incredible experience at their tasting room and touring the winery on a rainy day during Crush-- not an easy time to visit a winery. This beautiful winery produces some exquisite PNs. If you visit only one winery in the Willamette Valley, make it Domaine Serene

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Domaine Serene is one of the four wineries we must visit on our travels to the Dayton, Dundee, and Newberg area. We are far from being "wine snobs" and are probably not phased by the $20 tasting fee because we typically purchase enough wine to wave the fee. Wine tasting in Oregon is a pleasure and a treat for us. The conversations with people, the winery setting and the surroundings are the memories that transform a wine from excellent to exquisite. Our experience at Domaine Serene has not failed us. The Domaine Serene staff has been more than accomodating and this time, we were lucky enough to have a tasting with Rachel and she was very knowledgable and a pure delight. The setting is beautiful and the wines are exquisite. Spend some relaxing and tasting some top quality wine.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced and uninteresting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Prior to our recent trip to the Willamette Valley, we had enjoyed Domaine Serene wines on occasion so were excited for their Exquisite Wines tour. At $50 a person, I expected something very special. Instead we got a new college grad, not very knowledgeable about winemaking, taking us on a perfunctory tour of the winery. And a tasting of some decent but not memorable wines. Save your money. Beautiful setting -- almost too pristine. My recommendation: drive in and around it and then head over to several of the other Dundee Hills wineries for better tours and tastings.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Excellent location, beautiful grounds, expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Having spent a lot of time in Napa, we're used to self-important, overpriced wines. $20 for a tasting is not in character with Oregon wineries and communicates that something special, something really unique is coming. The wine is good, but not special, and it's overpriced. And, we didn't need the server to tell us about the special wines in the $100-250 range. I assume this winery might appeal to the wine tourists, but those who know Oregon wines know there's a great amount of really excellent Pinot, served by knowledgeable and friendly people, who care about the subtleties and nuances, at reasonable prices, and wineries for which growing sales and profitability is secondary.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best Winery in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a great afternoon there with the wonderful staff of Domaine Serene, the wine tasting was superb and we ended up leaving with a case of wine. Outside tables and view were the way to go given the beautiful weather. If you are in the Dundee/Dayton area this is a must!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domaine Serene also viewed

 

Been to Domaine Serene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine Serene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.