We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, beautiful grounds, expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine Serene

Domaine Serene
6555 NE Hilltop Lane, Dayton, OR 97114
503 864 4600; 866 864 6555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 things to do in Dayton
Attraction details
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Excellent location, beautiful grounds, expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Having spent a lot of time in Napa, we're used to self-important, overpriced wines. $20 for a tasting is not in character with Oregon wineries and communicates that something special, something really unique is coming. The wine is good, but not special, and it's overpriced. And, we didn't need the server to tell us about the special wines in the $100-250 range. I assume this winery might appeal to the wine tourists, but those who know Oregon wines know there's a great amount of really excellent Pinot, served by knowledgeable and friendly people, who care about the subtleties and nuances, at reasonable prices, and wineries for which growing sales and profitability is secondary.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Winery in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a great afternoon there with the wonderful staff of Domaine Serene, the wine tasting was superb and we ended up leaving with a case of wine. Outside tables and view were the way to go given the beautiful weather. If you are in the Dundee/Dayton area this is a must!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very EXPENSIVE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I did enjoy the environment of Domaine Serene set up on a lovely hilltop in Dayton, a beautiful spot in the Willamette Wine Country. However, the wines, while good are very expensive and with a $20/tasting fee and 3-bottle minimum to have the tasting fee refunded it just seems excessive. There are many other wineries with an equally lovely tasting room and surrounding environment where you will experience a more reasonable tasting fee and the bottles of wine will be more appropriately priced. No need to gauge..

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous wines, first-rate hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Domaine Serene combines a lovely setting on a hill top, great views, fabulous wines and an absolutely first-rate hospitality staff. The welcome is warm and friendly and the personal touch exhibited here makes a visit truly special. I really enjoy Oregon Pinots and theirs, both the Yamhill Cuvee and all the single vineyard pinots are outstanding examples. Chardonnays are just what a great Chard should be and the current vintage Rose is crisp and yummy, beautiful color, great for summer sipping. I always leave this beautiful winery with some of my favorite wines to savor at home.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Personal touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

There is plenty of great wine in willamette to taste. What sets Domaine Serene part is the personal touch. Pre plan a seated tasting. Even though it was a busy holiday weekend, Lucas went out of his way to get us set up. Over the next hour Callie made us feel at home pouring one great wine after another in a private room with an incredible view. Can't wait to return.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domaine Serene also viewed

 

Been to Domaine Serene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine Serene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.