We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and explore the region.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Green Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Village Green Resort to your Saves list
Village Green Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Row River Road, Cottage Grove, OR 97424   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cottage Grove
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and explore the region.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We came down to the Cottage Grove area of Oregon after reading an article on the covered bridges in the area. Just before we left we also were able to get a voucher from Travel Zoo - what a deal! For the price you just couldn't beat it. We also travel with a dog and he loved his accommodation and especially, all the new smells in the wonderful gardens. The rooms are a bit dated but very comfortable and quiet. The hotel staff were so friendly, the food in the resturant was excellent and the huge gardens were just a joy to explore. We used the Village Green as our base as we visited all the covered bridges and wineries in the area. It was a long drive but well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    87
    26
    27
    11
See reviews for
39
132
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Well worth the drive and the voucher purchased from Travelzoo made it even better. This whole place is unpretentious--just cozy and lots of thoughtful things everywhere. The gardens are such a joy--we could not get enough of the trails leading here and there. The restaurant food was scrumptious (spendy, but very good). Worth the extra $10 for a deluxe room that has a gas fireplace and private patio. Ask to be as far as you can from freeway noise. Thought the room was a bit crowded, it was still comfortable. Be sure to drive around the lakes and rivers--Cottage Grove goes on and on.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 900 room area which blocked some of the freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We also used a Travelzoo voucher that enticed us to visit. The other thing was that they are dog friendly and we like to take our dog with us when we travel. Loved the relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. I was a bit hesitant when I read the reviews of the "dog rooms" as they hadn't been updated. If you are looking for a 4-5 star room to stay with your dog...this in not it. However, if you are just looking for a clean, expansive room (and don't mind some dated things like a pink tile bathroom) ;) with beautiful gardens all around, then this is a fine choice. We had one of the deluxe rooms which was across from the pool (which looked REALLY nice, tropical looking setting) and hot tub. It had a living room, bedroom with a small kitchen space (microwave/refrig/coffee pot) and a desk area. The only complaint is the living room area could really use more lighting...very dark. Didn't notice the freeway noise at all (and we live on acreage in the country) but I imagine the placement of your room could make a difference. The breakfasts were filling...waffles, mini omelets cereal, fresh fruit. Dinner was nice, especially with the bottle of wine that came with the voucher. I would like to say, if you travel with a dog(s) PLEASE don't leave your dogs in the room unattended....sheesh you would think people would know that, most places tell you that up front. The neighbors left their dogs when they went somewhere and they barked non-stop. I also noticed where a dog had chewed the corner of one of the walls in our room. Seriously, I LOVE traveling with my dog...but I sure can understand why some lodging doesn't allow them. We need to make it a pleasant experience for the people who own/run the place as well as the people that don't travel with dogs. Would we return for another visit? Yes!!

Room Tip: get one further away from the freeway...the ones near the pool are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Village Green Resort in Cottage Grove has a delusive look of a sprawling motel off Interstate 5, just 25 miles south of Eugene, but in reality it is quite a tranquil and relaxing vacation spot in the midst of the Oregon countryside.

It was heck of a Travelzoo C$159 deal we grabbed few months back for two people for two nights stay including one fabulous dinner with a bottle of wine and two breakfasts that we availed the offer to our almost complete gratification and recreation at the closing part of summer of 2013.

The two most outstanding features of the Village Green are the "Seasons at the Green" restaurant with an impressive menu and generous portions; and the well maintained extensive Village Green garden with different themes covering a wide variety local and tropical flowers, shrubs and trees.

The resort also has a huge, interesting and perhaps expensive collection of antiques tastefully displayed in the lobby as well in the dining and entertainment areas.

The Village Green is a peaceful abode where soft music mingles with the garden fragrance of fresh air which made our stay quite sedative.

The room we got, a standard one, was quite neat and clean with a green patio. However, the sagging bed and almost worn out faded color towels need immediate replacement. If not, the motel-look of the Village Green can be tagged along with this reputable resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had never been to Village Green Resort before but an enticing voucher for two nights, dinner, and a couple of wine passes encouraged our visit. The location was handy, the rooms updated and very clean, and the gardens around the resort made the trip more than worthwhile. We had a king size room with a private patio - it was lovely. We wandered throughout the gardens which, even in September, were beautiful. The lounge was comfortable, the staff was very friendly, and the restaurant had good breakfasts and a romantic dinner in the evening. Now that we have been there, we are planning on coming back in different seasons to see the gardens at their height.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, IA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We got a deal on travelzoo that included 2 nights, dinner with wine breakfasts and several wine tastings. Great deal at 159. The only downside is the noise from I5. The gardens are beautiful. You just need to keep the air conditioner running at night to cover the noise from I5.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed two nights using a voucher and had an upgraded room with a patio and fireplace. We really didn't use the gas fireplace but the patio was great especially as we had warm sunny days. There is some I-5 traffic noise and our neighbours were in a partying mood one evening on their patio and the divider fence is pretty low so I wouldn't call it tranquil but very enjoyable all the same. The customer service was very good, the food in the restaurant more than met our expectations and we visited some charming wineries with picnic facilities to enjoy lunch each day. We also took some time to explore Eugene which was interesting. All in all a very good value and we would happily return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Green Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Green Resort

Address: 725 Row River Road, Cottage Grove, OR 97424
Location: United States > Oregon > Cottage Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cottage Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Green Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Green Resort and Gardens include an onsite restaurant "Seasons at The Green" and the Fireside lounge with live entertainment each night! Beautiful cozy Guestrooms that offer private garden patios and 14 acres of themed gardens to enjoy. Village Green is within walking distance of the 14 mile paved Row River Trail that takes you around Dorena Lake by bicycle, horse or running! Here at the Village Green Resort we offer Tandem Bike Rentals to see the area and bike the Row River Trail. We also offer an on site Beauty Salon. Cottage Grove is well known for it historic Covered Bridges. There is so much beauty here you will want to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Village Green Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Green Hotel Cottage Grove
Village Green Cottage Grove
Village Green Hotel And Gardens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Green Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.