We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tranquilizing Resort in Oregon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Green Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Village Green Resort to your Saves list
Village Green Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Row River Road, Cottage Grove, OR 97424   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cottage Grove
Vancouver
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Tranquilizing Resort in Oregon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Village Green Resort in Cottage Grove has a delusive look of a sprawling motel off Interstate 5, just 25 miles south of Eugene, but in reality it is quite a tranquil and relaxing vacation spot in the midst of the Oregon countryside.

It was heck of a Travelzoo C$159 deal we grabbed few months back for two people for two nights stay including one fabulous dinner with a bottle of wine and two breakfasts that we availed the offer to our almost complete gratification and recreation at the closing part of summer of 2013.

The two most outstanding features of the Village Green are the "Seasons at the Green" restaurant with an impressive menu and generous portions; and the well maintained extensive Village Green garden with different themes covering a wide variety local and tropical flowers, shrubs and trees.

The resort also has a huge, interesting and perhaps expensive collection of antiques tastefully displayed in the lobby as well in the dining and entertainment areas.

The Village Green is a peaceful abode where soft music mingles with the garden fragrance of fresh air which made our stay quite sedative.

The room we got, a standard one, was quite neat and clean with a green patio. However, the sagging bed and almost worn out faded color towels need immediate replacement. If not, the motel-look of the Village Green can be tagged along with this reputable resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    86
    26
    26
    11
See reviews for
37
130
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had never been to Village Green Resort before but an enticing voucher for two nights, dinner, and a couple of wine passes encouraged our visit. The location was handy, the rooms updated and very clean, and the gardens around the resort made the trip more than worthwhile. We had a king size room with a private patio - it was lovely. We wandered throughout the gardens which, even in September, were beautiful. The lounge was comfortable, the staff was very friendly, and the restaurant had good breakfasts and a romantic dinner in the evening. Now that we have been there, we are planning on coming back in different seasons to see the gardens at their height.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, IA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We got a deal on travelzoo that included 2 nights, dinner with wine breakfasts and several wine tastings. Great deal at 159. The only downside is the noise from I5. The gardens are beautiful. You just need to keep the air conditioner running at night to cover the noise from I5.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed two nights using a voucher and had an upgraded room with a patio and fireplace. We really didn't use the gas fireplace but the patio was great especially as we had warm sunny days. There is some I-5 traffic noise and our neighbours were in a partying mood one evening on their patio and the divider fence is pretty low so I wouldn't call it tranquil but very enjoyable all the same. The customer service was very good, the food in the restaurant more than met our expectations and we visited some charming wineries with picnic facilities to enjoy lunch each day. We also took some time to explore Eugene which was interesting. All in all a very good value and we would happily return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, Usa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My mom and I recently stayed here on a girl's trip to Oregon. Our room was clean and comfortable and had its own private patio. The lobby is very nicely decorated and the staff is very helpful. They provide a nice complimentary breakfast that you can eat in the dining room or take outside - try the homemade zucchini bread if they have it. All that said, the real reason to stay here is the immaculate grounds. They boast over 14 different gardens all over the property. Ask at the front desk for the self-guided tour map and make sure you leave at least an hour to see all of the beautiful touches in these gardens. They play host to a lot of weddings and you will see why!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wow...what a nice two day package they offered....the inn had a nice king room...clean and easy to access...the breakfast each morning was very nice...you could make your own waffles plus they had hot omelets. The gardens were beautiful and diverse...but I do not think many people took advantage of the 14 acre refuge. The winery tours were great...you just need to figure out the system. Oh yes, the evening gourmet dinner with wine was superb...just remember that after a day of wine tasting you can take the wine home. A great adventure...

Room Tip: Excellent stop enroute to Portland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Easy access from I-5, lovely gardens and excellent service at the front desk. Typical motel room, but with a lovely back deck surrounded by gardens. Too bad the gardens are right next to the freeway. I had a standard room, nothing special. The travelzoo package included breakfasts and dinners. Very nice breakfast buffet - make your own waffles, cereal, etc. Dinners and restaurant service were inconsistent - one night fantastic seafood (stuffed trout with crispy vegetables) and attentive service, the second night, prime rib with overdone vegetables and basically ignored by server. I walked out! I enjoyed Cottage Grove and the decor and gardens of the main building. But I wouldn't drive six hours for it again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room with a garden patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Green Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Green Resort

Address: 725 Row River Road, Cottage Grove, OR 97424
Location: United States > Oregon > Cottage Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cottage Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Green Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Green Resort and Gardens include an onsite restaurant "Seasons at The Green" and the Fireside lounge with live entertainment each night! Beautiful cozy Guestrooms that offer private garden patios and 14 acres of themed gardens to enjoy. Village Green is within walking distance of the 14 mile paved Row River Trail that takes you around Dorena Lake by bicycle, horse or running! Here at the Village Green Resort we offer Tandem Bike Rentals to see the area and bike the Row River Trail. We also offer an on site Beauty Salon. Cottage Grove is well known for it historic Covered Bridges. There is so much beauty here you will want to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Village Green Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Green Hotel Cottage Grove
Village Green Cottage Grove
Village Green Hotel And Gardens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Green Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.