We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potpourri” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cottage Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apple Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Apple Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
30697 Kenady Lane, Cottage Grove, OR 97424   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Potpourri”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Strangest Bed and Breakfast experience of our life....and we travel often. Out in the middle of nowhere-but not in a good way. Potpourri assault at every turn, religous propaganda, and more apple tchotckes then I ever want to see in a life time. Overpriced room-previouly was a play room downstairs from the house...woke to elephants tromping upstairs. Meal was left on the table for us...they left for church. Felt like we were in a strange almost scary movie.

Green Features: None that were noticed. Too much plastic to see past.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathe M, Owner at Apple Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
I guess I am just speechless about this review. We do notify our guests that there will be a full breakfast for them on Sunday mornings even if we have to leave at 8am. We are located 6 minutes from town for restaurants and shopping and bike trails and recreation. We do not use potpourri but have a candle for our guests if they choose to burn it. Please read our 60+ reviews to get other perspectives of the Apple Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
40
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oxnard
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in the upstairs room. The room was very quiet with the most comfortable bed, we could have stayed in bed all day and read our books. Our room was clean and well decorated. Our hosts were charming. Kathe prepared a wonderful home cooked breakfast, presented beautifully. The hosts provided special treats in the evening which we thoroughly enjoyed. Their property is located the beautiful Oregon Forrest. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathe M, Owner at Apple Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are glad the Tree House room was comfortable and and pleasant for you. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Beautiful home, lovely room, nicest people, delicious food. We enjoyed every minute of our stay at The Apple Inn, especially the lovely porch/deck area, overlooking the open beautifully landscaped yard surrounded by nearby forrest trees. So peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathe M, Owner at Apple Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We have the nicest guests! We love it when our guests are pleased with the landscaping, food, room, and the peaceful environment we try to achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Quiet, gracious and supremely peaceful. I only wish we could have stayed longer. No detail was overlooked. The room was immaculate. The breakfast was delicious. The coffee was nice and strong! The host and hostess were kind and delightful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathe M, Owner at Apple Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We make a big effort to pay attention to detail. Thanks for noticing. We have Organic Costa Rican coffee delivered regularly to assure a fresh ground delicious mug for your morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was the first bed and breakfast I've ever stayed at and I was unsure when I booked it, especially since I was travelling alone. I didn't know what to expect, but the excellent review here on tripadvisor along with other research I did convinced me to give it a try. I started off just looking for somewhere to stay for a few days, but the Apple Inn turned out to be so much more.

The first day I drove up to the b&b, I was in awe of the trees that surrounded the property. Kathe and Harry greeted me warmly and we chatted briefly before they left. My first treat was peanut butter cookies that were so good. Over the course of those 4 days, the Apple Inn became my home away from home and it was so hard to leave when the time came. Between Kathe's delicious breakfasts and treats and Harry's entertaining stories and jokes, the Inn began to feel less like a place to stay and more like home. Kathe catered her breakfasts to the needs of the other guests who had food allergies. She loves to cook and to create new recipes. Be sure to ask about the Dutch baby pancakes!

I spent several hours over the course of the weekend chatting with them and learning about the area and the forest. Harry is so knowledgeable about forestry and you can see how much he loves his land and cares about conservation. Harry went out of his way to make his beautiful forest accessible to me. I've never hiked in a forest and their property is like another world. There are so many beautiful flowers that grow around the Inn which adds to the charm and the peacefulness of the area.

The Apple Inn is so much more than a place to stay, it's a peaceful and beautiful home away from home and I hope to visit again very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathe M, Owner at Apple Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are glad we had the time to visit and share stories. It is our goal to help our guests have a relaxing time and enjoy what the Apple Inn offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We really enjoyed staying with Kathe and Harry at their B&B. She is a Cottage Grove native and very tuned into the area; he has retired from the timber industry and is an expert on intelligent forest management. They are a very pleasant couple and their home is a delight. Breakfast was a treat. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The downstairs room has two twin beds and a double; the upstairs a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathe M, Owner at Apple Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thanks for letting us know you were happy with your stay with us. We enjoyed hearing your history with our little town. I just want to clarify on your room tip, we have queen beds, not double beds. That's is likely what you meant. We look forward to your next visit in your special MG.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a great time staying at the Apple Inn for three nights. Located in the shady woods, it was a nice respite from the very sunny day event we were attending in Cottage Grove. The room was very comfortable, the breakfasts outstanding, and the hosts were informative and fun to chat with. A big plus was being able to hike uphill through their forested property...absolutely beautiful!

Room Tip: The Apple Orchard room, where we stayed, has a private entance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathe M, Owner at Apple Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We are glad you took advantage of our forest trails and took some nice walks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 30697 Kenady Lane, Cottage Grove, OR 97424
Location: United States > Oregon > Cottage Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cottage Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a 270 acre forest you will discover the peace, comfort and great hospitality of the Apple Inn. You will be treated to great homemade goodies and the luxury of fluffy robes and a hot tub soak. The Apple Inn is located minutes from great restaurants, antique shopping, covered bridges, wineries, a 26 mile bike trail, two beautiful lakes and more. We are close to Eugene for additional dining, shopping, sports, cultural events and more. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.