We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Mexican Food than I've had in a Long Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Tapatio

El Tapatio
725 E Gibbs Ave, Cottage Grove, OR
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 43 Restaurants in Cottage Grove
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: This is a relatively new restaurant that is part of a small family chain of restaurants on the West Coast of the U.S.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a relatively new restaurant that is part of a small family chain of restaurants on the West Coast of the U.S.
Monroe, Oregon
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Better Mexican Food than I've had in a Long Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I can into El Tapatio expecting an okay lunch. Boy, was I impressed. They had generous portions of excellent Mexican food. The prices were very good too. I won't eat anywhere else on my next trip to Cottage Grove. The group I was with all enjoyed their meals. I would recommend El Tapatio to anybody.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprise find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Driving thru on the way to Seattle from Oregon coastline. Stopped before hitting the highway. Enormous portions of savory Mexican food, very authentic. Super fast service. Left fully satisfied. Thanks!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Kids eat free on Sunday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We love this place. It is a great value for families with kids. We come most Sundays. The staff are all super sweet, and they take great care of you. Overall food is good, not great. Typical large Mexican restaurant fare. The home made corn tortillas are amazing though, so do ask if they have them when you visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Lively atmosphere, resonable drink specials and tasty latin cuizine. Authentic environment and on the outskirts of town.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Service was fantastic and so was the food. We had a large party go here for dinner and the waiter never missed a beat

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tapatio also viewed

 

Been to El Tapatio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tapatio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.