We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to call the police on the staff. WORST experience at any hotel Ever.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Manor Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Manor Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Manor Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   925 Northwest Garfield, Corvallis, OR 97330   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Corvallis
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had to call the police on the staff. WORST experience at any hotel Ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I are hospitality consultants and had bought a package given by Visit Corvallis and OSU at a tourism conference. It included a night stay before the Oct 6th football game at the Grand Manor and my wife and I shelled out another $200 to stay the night before as well. Big Mistake.

The last morning of our stay we woke up to have found that bed bugs had gotten us in the night. Ive dealt with bed bugs before having managed hotels so I understand this stuff happens. I didn't plan on making a big deal about it even though our sheets were covered with blood from the bites and very distinctive fecal matter patterns.

My wife politely informed the clerk (zoedy I think her name was) and then everything went down hill. Immediately she became hostile and had us sit downstairs while her head housekeeper went and looked at the room. After 15 minutes she informed us that we were wrong and that there were no bedbugs in the room. She said that "all our beds have bed bug covers so its not possible," and I tried to inform her of how bedbugs work. Eventually I walked her to the room and showed her the markings and to make a long story short we were treated very rudely and the head housekeeper insinuated we were liars trying to get a free room.

Zoedy went out of her way to be insulting to my wife and refused to give us any information about when we could talk to or how to contact a manager saying it was against hotel policy. At this point my wife demanded a refund of the night we paid directly and said that Visit Corvallis should be refunded as well.

My wife was informed that she would need to get pictures of my wifes bites and that it was hotel policy. My wife was wearing a dress and asked in disbelief that it was hotel policy that the clerk and housekeeper should undress my wife and take a picture of her behind? The clerk informed her that it was. At this point the head housekeeper suggested that my wife go somewhere with her and the clerk and undress so she could take a picture with the camera on her cell phone.

Obviously we refused. and began to leave very angry as the staff treated us like we were trying to scam them. Right before leaving we were gathering our stuff the housekeeper harassed my wife and followed her onto the elevator back to the lobby. She cornered her in the elevator and kept asking her if she was going to let her take a picture. As soon as we left we called the Corvallis Police Department.

The officer told us that unfortunately it didnt sound like a crime was actually commited and suggested we talk to a lawyer. Which we did, not to sue but to find out the best way to highlight this horrendous policy of Best Western . Which we will.

Even if my wife had been making up a story of bites (which she wasn't) then they still give their guests bedsheets covered in bloodstains and fecal matter for $200.00 + a night

Without this experience the hotel is still tacky and overpriced with fair, at best, service

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelcorvallis, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Manor Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Our staff is quite well aware of the issue with bedbugs and have had training with Best Western to look for signs of bedbugs in our guest rooms to maintain a clean environment for our guests. Our hotel staff does not consider themselves to be experts in this situation and when this issue arose last October they followed procedure and contacted Terminix, a pest control service and expert in the issue to investigate the situation. Terminix came to the property and reported that they found no evidence of bedbugs or bugs in the room in question or in the hotel. We did communicate the findings by Terminix to the guests who had reported the issue the same day we had Terminix on the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    77
    30
    8
    7
See reviews for
100
53
12
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The rooms are very spacious and clean. The service is friendly. In the breakfast room, the bread that is available is baked at a local bakery that employs developmentally disabled people. Kudos to management for supporting local business and one that offers opportunities for people with disabilities!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelcorvallis, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Manor Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Best Western Grand Manor Inn & Suites Traveler:

We really appreciate your taking the time to write a review for the hotel. We are happy that the large spacious and clean rooms made your accommodations special and that the service from our staff was friendly and helpful. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed the bread from the local bakery. We love the smell of the cinnamon raisin bread toasting from the breakfast room each morning. We welcome your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stay in motels to sleep. This is a nice motel, but the heater/air conditioner does not have a continuous fan feature while heating/cooling. That means it turns off and on all night. For me it made for a frequently disrupted sleep. Overall it's a fine establishment, but if you need 'white-noise' at night you might want something else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelcorvallis, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Manor Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Best Western Grand Manor Inn & Suites Traveler:

We thank you for staying at our hotel and taking the time to write a review. We see that overall you were very pleased with the hotel. Our new heaters/air coolers are equipped with a digital thermostat and may be regulated in various fan modes. We do apologize for any inconvenience but we wondering if you may have set the fan mode to high while you were heating your room while you stayed at the hotel. We thank you again for staying at the Best Western Grand Manor Inn & Suites hotel in Corvallis, Oregon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is within walking distance to a Trader Joe's grocery store, a casual Italian restaurant, and a TJMaxx. We stayed here for a weekend for my husband's job interview. The hotel is adequate, the staff is friendly, and there were a few nice extra touches. Firstly, the hotel seems to be making a valiant effort at being more "green." The hotel bathroom is stocked with EO shampoo, conditioner, and body wash in a bulk-attached-to-the-wall pump dispenser, which is great because the products themselves are good and it also saves on plastic. Also, there is an included free breakfast, which features locally baked bread from the Taylor Street bakery. These final touches, along with the location and the friendly staff, where what made our stay nice and this hotel stand out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelcorvallis, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Manor Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Best Western Grand Manor Inn & Suites Traveler:

We are extremely pleased that you had an opportunity to stay at our hotel. Your compliments about our green soap dispensers, locally baked bread for our breakfast, and our location are greatly appreciated. We will see you again on your next visit to Corvallis, Oregon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We went here to visit the OSU campus. Jill was very helpful at check in and recommend a super italian place to eat right across the street. The room was HUGE - two king beds, plus couches, an office area and a balcony. I don't know if we got an upgrade or what but we did not want to leave. Breakfast was OK and the space was tight. Starbucks is right across the street. If we go back we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelcorvallis, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Manor Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Best Western Grand Manor Inn & Suites Traveler:

We are happy to know that you like many of guests found the double king mini suite in our hotel to be extremely pleasurable during your visit to Corvallis, Oregon. We are pleased that Pastinis and Starbucks are close by for the convenience of our guests here at the hotel. We hope that your visit to Oregon State University was a remarkable one and that we may see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is by no means a horrible hotel but it leaves a little to be desired in comparison to the price. We stayed in Sept '12 and it was supposed to be a football weekend. We were visiting family and not really in town for the game but we def had to pay the inflated "football weekend" room rates. I think we paid 3 times more than the value of this hotel and guess what, the football game was cancelled that weekend. We tried to see if we could get some type of discount on the room based on the cancelled game but the staff wouldn't budge. Ok, I understand that!

Our room was ok. It seems like the hotel was recently remodeled but they just seemed to miss a few things in the remodel. Example- the bathroom had up to date tile and a new tub but the faucet and fixtures were the same and our shower function did not work. Then the dry wall had not been updated or painted and had yellow stains and cracked in it. They also saved all the old hardware in the bathroom and both the TP holder and towel rack were covered with rust. All of these issues just took away from the great work they did with putting in all new and modern tile. Why not update everything. The same goes for the furniture and carpeting. The bedding was new and modern but didn't hide the dark and dated carpeting and furniture.

This hotel is definitely average ... I would recommend a stay here if you get a good price but beware if it is a premium rates weekend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelcorvallis, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Manor Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Best Western Grand Manor Inn & Suites Traveler:

We are pleased with your selection of our hotel during your stay in Corvallis, Oregon and we thank you for writing us a review. We are delighted that you had an opportunity to visit with your family and our hotel was able to accommodate you during your stay. We are excited that you enjoyed the new renovations to the hotel. We look forward to your next visit so that we may offer you a superior and excellent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Manor Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Manor Inn & Suites

Address: 925 Northwest Garfield, Corvallis, OR 97330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Corvallis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Corvallis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Manor Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Manor Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Grand Manor Inn & Suites In Corvallis Hotel Corvallis
Best Western Grand Manor Inn And Suites In Corvallis
Best Western Corvallis
Corvallis Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Manor Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.