We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usually good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magenta Restaurant

Magenta Restaurant
137 SW 2nd St, Corvallis, OR 97333
(541) 758-3494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 182 Restaurants in Corvallis
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: French, Indonesian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Philomath, Oregon
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Usually good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I look forward to the lamb chops here, but tonight they just weren't that good. They were fatty and barely any meat. It was a disappointment. Funny thing is that we when go here the food is superb and the service is awful or the food is awful and the service is superb. It's hit or miss. I also have to take allergy medicine before I go here since they burn incense or something like it. I probably won't go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    9
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
523 reviews 523 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have wanted to go here for several years and finally made it. Maybe I'll go back some time for Happy Hour and try some Dim Sum, but can't say there was anything that would really make me rush right back.

The food had decent flavors, but both my friend and I remarked that it was cold. I had the plate lunch and the coconut prawns (2) were really delish, but the pad thai was just OK and the grilled chicken breast was cold and like chunked up left over pieces.

I also don't think the server was all that friendly. No drink menus were given. We had to ask for a Dim Sum menu. Although passed on it. And was not asked if we wanted drinks or dessert, so we went around the block for that after.

We arrived just after noon on Sunday and maybe people were eating brunch still (not my thing) and so maybe we picked the wrong time to order what we did.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Small Plates, will go again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Unique restaurant, unique food, great dining experience! I would recommend ordering off of the small plates as well as trying one of their cocktails. Haven't been here for happy hour but the prices are awesome!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fusion of Asian and European food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Very high quality fusion of Asian and French food for reasonable price. Lunch $10-$15, dinner $20-$30. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dim Sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We went here on a recommendation from a friend and were not disappointed. We tried 10 of the 39 options from the Dim Sum menu and liked all but one. The crab cakes are really tasty. The drinks are delicious, but spendy. Fortunately we went during happy hour so I could afford the $9 drink (dim sum items are only $3 each during happy hour). The service is exceptional. We will definately be returning soon to try some more items from the Dim Sum Menu. Absolutely yummy and great fun!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magenta Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Magenta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magenta Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.