We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar

Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar
250 Southwest 3rd Street, Corvallis, OR 97333
(541) 754-7508
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 163 Restaurants in Corvallis
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse, Sushi
Restaurant details
Northern California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We both had bento box lunch. Teriyaki Chicken and Teriyaki Salmon. Good portions and flavor. Service so-so. Nice clean decor, but some parts of restaurant a bit dark. Convenient downtown location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, United States
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Above average food, miserable service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

So I am giving this place the benefit of the doubt with the 3 star rating as we were told that 2 people did not show up to work that night unannounce. It took far far too long to have our order take, and far too long for everything associated with the night. The service was the worst I have had at a restaurant in years. The setting itself was very nice and clean, and the food was above average for hibachi. Service can certinly get better which is a good sign for this place, because the food was very very good, we just hated the night due to the service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Another place that is like Benihana”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I sat in the Teppanyaki Grill section and ordered from that part of the menu. The cook was Skilled and did his tricks well. I was impressed with the splitting the egg in the air trick. The chef was not Asian, but Mexican (Not essential for him to be so, but would have added to the authenticness of a Japanese Steakhouse). He did the typical tricks you would see at a Teppanyaki grill ( juggle utensils, beating rice heart, volcano onion, shrimp toss).

Chicken and Steak were great. Shrimp was OK, as was the vegetables. The fried rice was a little disappointing in flavor and contents compared to Benihana's.

If your looking for the experience of a Japanese Teppanyaki Grill in the area, give it a try.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The "other" good Japanese restaurant here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Despite its unappealing name, the TJS&SB is a good restaurant, and with its several tappan bars, usually filled to the brim with happy customers. Although service varies with newer wait staff (seems to have a pretty high turn-over), the food is invariably good. I especially like their sashimi, always a measure of quality. The decor is fine, except for the out-of-context professional football helmet hung in the loft seating area (what's a Washington Redskin's helmet doing here?)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“fun grill, entertainment and food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I can't speak to the sushi but the grill is fun to watch while the chef cooks your food and entertains you. The food is good but not special.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.