We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comortable for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1313 North Bayshore Drive, Coos Bay, OR 97420   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Very comortable for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

We took advantage of an internet-only deal so that our nightly rate with taxes was $62 for a double queen. The " Roaring Start" buffet breakfast was $5/each so for $72 we had bed and breakfast. At this price the room was comfortable although a bit loud from Highway 101 traffic and breakfast satisfactory. Room had recently been updated and was spacious could have accommodated another easy chair so that there would have been two in the double queen room. Rack rates were considerably higher and would not be as satisfied if we had had to pay more.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    126
    70
    48
    23
See reviews for
80
113
15
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Ok, for the price, you can't expect a 5 star hotel. BUT, this was just fine. A no frills, basic hotel with no negative issues. The room smelled a little musty, but look where it's at. Right next to the ocean. It wasn't offensive. Smelled kind of like grandma's house. Staff were very friendly and gave great tip on where to have dinner. Everything worked and was a quiet stay, despite some big poker tournament going on. Breakfast was a step above your standard continental breakfast and had decent selection. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Clean room. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast. Not bad at all :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Booked online through AAA, our room was exactly what we requested--ground floor, easy access, excellent quality queen-size beds. The included buffet breakfast was an unexpected bonus--lots of fresh fruit, ample choices, pleasant dining space. Despite being next to the busy highway, this was a quiet and pleasant place to stay. I plan to stay there again next time I"m traveling on the Oregon coast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

I sooo do not like this hotel, but I have to deal with it because my airline puts us in it. We overnight here with no cars..therefore we have to walk to where we wanna go. Yuck, the pillows stink!!! Smells like someones scummy hair, I don't think they change them daily. The pillows are way to small. Oh and in Sep 10' my pilot got bit up in the night, either bed bugs or spiders. Also it's and outdoors hotel, motel like to me. You have to haul your bags up cement stairs..so get a ground level room.
so, I'd you decide to stay here and smell stinky pillows..at least the van drivers are friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svnblustrs
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

This hotel was pretty gross. Our room honestly smelled like dirty feet. I sprayed perfume all over just to cover the smell. We only stayed for one night and Thank God! The way the rooms are set up it is more like a cheap motel but without the cheap part. It wasn't expensive but I wouldn't stay there again if it was free. In fact, Red Lion sent me an email survey after our trip and offered us a free night at one of their hotels but I told them no thanks. We couldn't find anything to do in the town of Coos Bay besides go to the Dairy Queen or the casino which is probably the nicest place to stay. We used the spa at the hotel which barely turned luke warm when you turned it on. The breakfast in the lobby was not even free for all guests and had I known we would not have bothered to pay for it but it was included in our room rate.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed at this hotel after booking through a familiar "name your price" website. Although the beds are comfortable we were disappointed in the cleanliness and overall experience. The food that we ordered and picked up to eat in room was hot but average. The rooms had a musty/smokey smell even when we opened the door to air it out. We did not feel it deserved a 3 star rating and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay

Address: 1313 North Bayshore Drive, Coos Bay, OR 97420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Coos Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located directly on Highway 101, the Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay Oregon is the Bay Area's premier full-service hotel. Just six blocks north of Coos Bay City Center and 10 minutes from the airport via our complimentary hotel transportation, you'll find that ocean beaches, fishing charters, whale watching and shopping are all just minutes away.Our 145 spacious non-smoking guest rooms feature all the amenities you would expect and more, including complimentary wi-fi, Red Lion's signature plush pillowtop bedding, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), digital satellite TV and complimentary HBO. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and whirlpool or work away your stress in our fitness room. We can also help you find where to charter a fishing boat, play golf, go bowling or find the best beaches to walk on, and of course, your pets are welcome.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. You'll find nightly drink and dinner specials in our Brickstone Restaurant. Our Brickstones Restaurant features Steaks, Chicken, and Seafood unique to the Pacific Northwest. Room service is also available. Our Characters Lounge features Live Stand Up Comedy every Friday and Saturday night. With over 5,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, the Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay is also able to accommodate your next conference or special occasion for up to 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Coos Bay
Coos Bay Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.