We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night stay in a pinch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1313 North Bayshore Drive, Coos Bay, OR 97420   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
La Grande, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good night stay in a pinch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Good people at the desk and good food. The room had weird musty smell and we had to run the water a while to get the rust out before showering. Otherwise they accept pets and it is a decent place to stay. It's much better than the Quality Inn but ready for an update soon. Also this room was a pet room I think and may not be average experience without pets. Just keep reading and you'll get an idea.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    126
    69
    48
    23
See reviews for
80
113
14
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brookston
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Quick check-in, friendly front desk staff.. Plenty of parking and a buffet, all you can eat breakfast for 4.95. Beds are comfortable which allows for a good night sleep. Plenty of pillows to use also. Not too much wrong with this hotel, even has a huge parking lot, Hotel is 2 stories high, outdoor entrances, so no need for an elevator. Only two items I didn't care for, the carpets in the room were either stained or really dirty, not real sure. And the thermostat did not work in my room. When entering the room, it was a total bake oven. I could not get the air to kick on to cool it down, so I chose shut the heat totally off, leave the door open and I opened the window. Working nights, I knew I would never be able to sleep as the heat took your breath away. When I returned after work, I had left the window open and it had cooled down some, but I was too tired to try and fiddle with getting another room. Very big rooms. If you are using a CLC card, be careful as they do not give you the 24 hour stay ability. If you arrive at 6:00 am which I did, they gave me a late check-out of 1:00 pm, but I needed a couple more hours of sleep prior to working that night and they charged me one more full night to stay until 4:00 pm. I run into this occasionally and It appears it is a breach on the contract.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Prompt and pleasant registration into a very nice room. Quality toiletries, 2 sink areas, huge closet. Dated flat screen tv, a bit of a hike from office/breakfast--could be a problem in rainstorm. But overall a good stay. There was a wedding that eve, and a bus load of tourists--we didn't hear any of it. Be there if we ever come this way again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

A large property on the hwy., easy to find. The staff were very friendly in all respects. The beds were comfortable in a spacious room with desk & sitting area. A little more attention to cleanliness ie- light switches, lamps & TV remotes would make it that much better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I found Red Lion online and it seemed like the best option for our stay in Coos Bay. We were in town for a memorial service. My mother in law discovered that they had a discounted bereavement rate so the whole family stayed there. Our room was a 2 bed first floor room. It was awesome. Much bigger than I was expecting with lots of room between the beds and desk area. It had a sink area in the room in addition to the bathroom. It also had a large closet, a refrigerator and a microwave. My room rate also came with breakfast which was a little nicer than your typical free hotel breakfast. I would definitely stay here again.

The two down sides- it is set up like a motel so you park outside you room. This means if it is crappy weather you are walking through the rain to breakfast or the lobby. Also it is not in walking distance of anything. If you want to be about to step out of your room and stroll through town stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Two bed rooms and one bed rooms are on opposite sides of the parking lot. If you want rooms near to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is truly a great place to stay. Comfortable, affordable, clean, quiet ~ could not ask for more and a big plus is that they have a free REAL breakfast in the morning! I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel is near downtown and you get a great view of the bay. They provide a full hot breakfast buffet for around $5. Be sure to take a relaxing dip in their huge hot tub, which is very rejuvenating and the water is chlorine-free. Rooms are very comfortable and provide all the amenities. Beer and wine is available for a small charge at the front desk. I would suggest staying here if you visit the Coos Bay Area, to include: North Bend, Charleston, Shore Acres, and Bastendorf Beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay

Address: 1313 North Bayshore Drive, Coos Bay, OR 97420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Coos Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located directly on Highway 101, the Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay Oregon is the Bay Area's premier full-service hotel. Just six blocks north of Coos Bay City Center and 10 minutes from the airport via our complimentary hotel transportation, you'll find that ocean beaches, fishing charters, whale watching and shopping are all just minutes away.Our 145 spacious non-smoking guest rooms feature all the amenities you would expect and more, including complimentary wi-fi, Red Lion's signature plush pillowtop bedding, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), digital satellite TV and complimentary HBO. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and whirlpool or work away your stress in our fitness room. We can also help you find where to charter a fishing boat, play golf, go bowling or find the best beaches to walk on, and of course, your pets are welcome.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. You'll find nightly drink and dinner specials in our Brickstone Restaurant. Our Brickstones Restaurant features Steaks, Chicken, and Seafood unique to the Pacific Northwest. Room service is also available. Our Characters Lounge features Live Stand Up Comedy every Friday and Saturday night. With over 5,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, the Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay is also able to accommodate your next conference or special occasion for up to 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Coos Bay
Coos Bay Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.