We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for the area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater Inn to your Saves list
Edgewater Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 E Johnson Ave, Coos Bay, OR 97420   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Okay for the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

Well, not a lot of choices in Coos Bay. The Edgewater advertising claims that it is on the water. The water is not the ocean or a bay but a river. Some river fronts are nice but this is mediocre. The much bragged about wood chip companies are in full view with a train next door to the hotel. It wasn't awful but not what we expected for a room with a water view. The hotel is older and we had a large room that had newer rennovations. We had a private hot tub which was very nice and a cute little bar area with bar stools. Coos Bay has a certain charm but certainly does not compare to the other Oregon coastal towns that we spent time in.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    50
    27
    13
    10
See reviews for
34
42
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

My son and I were touring the Pacific Northwest. We pulled into the Coos Bay Edgewater Inn around 11 PM. We had just decided against a couple of other lodging facilities we had inquired upon previously in the area, when we walked up to the desk and asked for availability. They negotiated a great rate for a room with two queen sized beds and we were quite surprised by how big and clean it was. We enjoyed our stay there, the breakfast, and the use of the exercise room and business center to catch up on emails and correspondence till check out time. We had been traveling hard for three days and the Edgewater Inn was a good place for us to unwind and recharge. We would recommend it to others and we would stay there again if ever in the area.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, OR
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2006

The website does the hotel no justice. It's clean, well-appointed and the staff was very helpful (they reccomended Benetti's for dinner -- it's not on the list of choices for dining here, but we highly recommend it!). We got a room with a king size bed + kitchenette & water view for $115 during peak season less than 1 week's notice (everything was sold out by the time we got there). I think this would be a great place for families -- large rooms + pool + continental breakfast.

  • Tips/Secrets — check out the beaches/state parks south closer to Charleston
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2006

Water view rooms are just great! Second floor with large balcony at $82.80 including tax and breakfast suited us fine for a stopover while enroute up Oregon coast. Huge room, very neat overlooking estuary (more than half the rooms are) - skip those which face the parking lot unless you are desperate. There aren't any better options in Coos Bay. Go to fish house in Charleston (5 miles) for dinner.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2006

We really enjoyed our one night stay here at the Edgewater Inn. The staff is very friendly and helpful. When we were checking out the clerk noticed I had written down an address on a piece of paper, she offered directions and was very pleasant and helpful.

We were very pleasantly surprised when we walked into our room, we were on the second floor, the room has a vaulted ceiling. It definitely did not look like a typical motel room. We had a big, comfy king sized bed, a table with chairs, another upholstered chair great to curl up in and read, a sitting bench going all across the foot of the bed. The room also had a microwave and mini refrigerator and coffee maker.

Through the sliding door a private balcony, with two chairs to sit and relax and watch the river. The grounds were very nice, flowers, well tended. There was a small dock that you can go on.

The pool/spa area was pleasant. There was also a tanning bed and exercise equipment.

The bathroom was nice, inside the main bathroom was the sink, toilet and shower/tub. Right outside the bathroom was another sink with a vanity. The shower was the best one we had during our 10 day vacation, good pressure, lots of hot water.

We loved the doughnuts that were served for contiental breakfast.

Safeway is just across the parking lot which was very convenient.

We enjoyed our stay here so much that we are planning a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2005

Our family stayed at the Edgewater Inn in Coos Bay in August, and it was very pleasant. We stayed in a clean, reasonably sized room with contemporary decor, two queen beds, and a nice view of the bay. The decent continental breakfast was served in their comfortable lobby The kids loved the indoor pool and it's close to town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Address: 275 E Johnson Ave, Coos Bay, OR 97420
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Coos Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coos Bay's only waterfront motel, the Edgewater Inn is located one block off of Highway 101 in the heart of the southern Oregon coast's recreational and business capital. The motel offers waterfront rooms, standard units, spa rooms, hot tub suite, full kitchen suite, and a two room suite. Indoor pool & hot tub and exercise room, business center, cont. breakfast in the lobby each morning, and guest laundry with washer & dryer (fee). Pets are welcome (fee). Within minutes you can visit Oregon's sand dunes, ocean beaches, premier restaurants, golf, fishing, and the world famous Shore Acres State Park. Whale watching, hiking, biking, crabbing, beachcombing, dune buggies, spectacular sunsets - it's all here waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Coos Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.