We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated, but ....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater Inn to your Saves list
Edgewater Inn
275 E Johnson Ave, Coos Bay, OR 97420   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Port Angeles, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A bit dated, but ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is good value. The room is extremely spacious, and although the decor is dated, we found the room to be clean, odor-free (we had a non-smoking, non-pet room), and comfortable. We had a room with a water view, and we enjoyed having our happy hour on the little balcony, even though the weather was rather chilly, drizzly and grey. Considering the value, we also overlooked the locale (next to 2 grocery stores, which could actually be a good thing!). The room was quiet. The linens were up-to-date and of good quality, and the beds were comfortable. I particularly was pleased to see the bed didn't have that grungy-looking blanket (which always makes you wonder whether it had been laundered between guests!) -- the blanket was obviously bright, fresh, clean and updated. I don't really care that the sitting chair was mauve - it was clean and comfortable. Sometimes I just don't get people who enjoy the low prices, yet bash the hotel for dated decor in their reviews. Can't have it both ways, folks! Overlook the decor ... enjoy the value and the things that matter!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    46
    26
    12
    10
See reviews for
33
41
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Butte Meadows, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent a couple of days on a getaway to the Oregon Coast. This time we shot up Interstate 5 and then cut across to Coos Bay. The Edgewater Inn has very nice comfortable rooms with nice views. They have rooms that have spas in them and they also have pet friendly rooms. They have a nice indoor pool and hot tub. There is a laundry for guest and a exercise room. They do a nice Continental Breakfast each morning. We dined out at the Mill Casino which does a buffet (Saw Blade), steak house (PLankhouse) and a coffee shop (Timbers). Several other fine dining places in North Bend and Coos Bay. Benetti's, Abby's Pizza for Italian. Rodeo Steak House and Grill. There is a lot to do around this place. Rent you a sand buggy and go ride the dunes. Fishing, clamming and crabbing in many places. Numerous beaches to explorer. Shore Acres rose gardens turned into a State, got to see this place when hundreds of thousands of lights are added during Christmas time. We drove down the coast through Bandon, Gold Beach and Brookings and then back into California. It was a very good get away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is moderately priced and the location on the slough is pretty. There is a grocery nearby
and the included breakfast is fine. The hotel also allows dogs. The staff was helpful and friendly but the hotel is definitely in need of renovation and our room did have a stale smell. There is a laundry room, a gym and a pool at the hotel. I would choose a different hotel if I am ever back in Coos Bay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had everything we needed... fridge, wifi, coffee and a balcony with chairs. There is a good super market beside it so we were able to shop for food. The weather was too cool and damp to sit outside which was too bad because the balcony is very private. The hotel is a little rough around the edges as far as carpets and finishings go but we felt that we got what we paid for.

Room Tip: You will save by getting a room that is not facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel needs a major face lift. Our room smelled like a nursing home. The purple carpet was filthy and everything else in the room (including the pink recliner) looked like it was purchased from a garage sale....The women at the front desk were unfriendly and down right rude for no apparent reason (2 different women, same attitude...is being curt and grumpy a requirement for working here??). The "breakfast" was scant, and the lady at the desk scoffed at us after asking if we needed her to make another pot of coffee. Based on our experience, we think the cost for staying here should be in the $70 a night range for, not over $120 for a standard room. We will not be back.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It is hard to separate an evaluation of this hotel from one's response to its location, Coos Bay, OR. Be aware that Coos Bay looks and feels like an industrial wasteland; this particular hotel is in the heart of it all. Although a few higher-priced rooms might look out upon a strip of picturesque waterscape, you are more likely to get a room overlooking the RV park or the Fred Meyer or Safeway parking lot. Very unfriendly to pedestrians, let alone to a scenic waterside walk. Some positives: our second-floor room was clean and large, the TV and wireless were good, two-tiered bathroom. The hotel seemed populated by locals who seemed pleased with it; it probably is a good staging-area if you have a specific vacation activity to pursue in the nearby area. If you are looking for somewhere to enjoy the natural beauty of the Oregon coast, however, this is not your place. This was the low point of our trip.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, avoid first-floor rooms facing parking lots because there was a lot of traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to the Edgewater Inn and it is consistently WONDERFUL! We came through Coos Bay again on our annual motorcycle ride up the coast and they allowed us to check in a little early to start our laundry. AWESOME staff! GREAT rooms... always clean and the property is conveniently located near a grocery store and the local Harley Davidson dealership.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Address: 275 E Johnson Ave, Coos Bay, OR 97420
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Coos Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coos Bay's only waterfront motel, the Edgewater Inn is located one block off of Highway 101 in the heart of the southern Oregon coast's recreational and business capital. The motel offers waterfront rooms, standard units, spa rooms, hot tub suite, full kitchen suite, and a two room suite. Indoor pool & hot tub and exercise room, business center, cont. breakfast in the lobby each morning, and guest laundry with washer & dryer (fee). Pets are welcome (fee). Within minutes you can visit Oregon's sand dunes, ocean beaches, premier restaurants, golf, fishing, and the world famous Shore Acres State Park. Whale watching, hiking, biking, crabbing, beachcombing, dune buggies, spectacular sunsets - it's all here waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Coos Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.