We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you are a smoker, read this before making reservations...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater Inn to your Saves list
Edgewater Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 E Johnson Ave, Coos Bay, OR 97420   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Chiloquin, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“if you are a smoker, read this before making reservations...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Regarding our stay at the Edgewater Inn at Coos Bay;

When we arrived we were tired due to a very long drive. At check in, I saw the terse little note that they had on the front desk for smokers which amounted to nothing more than a $300.00 threat; that the rules for smokers included the balcony or patio.

Since we are smokers, this offended me. There is no reason that smoking outside should be any kind of issue be it on the balcony or patio. We don’t smoke in our own house and haven’t for about the last 10 or 15 years, so smoking outside is normal for us even in inclimate weather. Nevertheless, we respected their rules and smoked at least 30 feet from the building.

When we entered the room we found it to be clean and orderly. Then we saw even more ‘threats’ that were left in the form of notes for their guests. One was in the bathroom where they told us to make a decision to help them conserve water by hanging up our towels; the other was on the table where it was mentioned that any missing items would be charged to our credit card.

This is middle school hall monitor mentality; their guests do not wish to be treated like 13 year olds.

I know and understand that they need to set parameters for their guests on the rules of their facility, but they need to do it in a different manner. We would no sooner steal anything from the room or smoke in it. I can confidently say we are honorable people who follow the rules no matter how much we may not like them.

Then, on the last night of our stay, we came back and found yet another note that was left by housekeeping on our table that was a ‘friendly reminder’ that this was a non smoking room and that smoking was not allowed in the room or the hallways. This note made me furious since at no time did we smoke in the hallways, the room, or anywhere near the facility. This note cost them their tip.

Their staff is lucky that my wife took this note to the front desk and had words with them and not me; I would have let everyone know on no uncertain terms that we hadn’t smoked in the room or on the patio or anywhere near the building and to stop threatening us with a $300.00 fine.

Any smoking related odors that were imagined by housekeeping either came from someone else, or perhaps the clothes we had hanging in the closet because we never smoked anywhere at any time near or in their building and we were more than diligent about following their rules. We never littered the property with cigarette butts; we properly extinguished and disposed of them.


As we sat outside on the sidewalk that follows the water, (30 feet from the building) we saw and talked with at least 4 other guests that also smoked. This should tell them something; a lot of their guests are smokers. One gentleman even smoked a cigar. They need to stop threatening these people; they pay their wages and make it possible for them to even have a job.

Smoking on patio’s or balconies should be allowed unless there is a complaint by another non-smoking guest. Even though their rules are ridiculous and prejudiced we diligently followed them because we don’t want trouble.

Their facility is a nice one with an ok setting, and the room was clean and well maintained; but we will not be back to use it. Since we are smokers, I’m sure they are fine with that. I do intend on writing more reviews to warn any smokers about this facility and its threatening rules; this note is just the beginning.

Their management staff and all the other staff need to have customer service training in this area; they need to treat their guests as welcome, whether they smoke or not; and as they themselves wish to be treated.

We won’t be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    50
    27
    13
    10
See reviews for
34
42
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Coast USA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed in a water view room. Nice balcony with a very pleasing view of a river. Superb, very comfortable King bed. Room was very clean. More spacious than average. Nice towels. Mini fridge and wave. Flat screen TV. We were very pleased with the condition of the room. No elevator, meaning access to 2nd floor equals stair climbing.

There is a Safeway directly adjacent to the hotel property, very convenient for snacks, drinks, etc.

The sun sets behind the building, meaning there was sun in the morning, and a shaded balcony in the afternoon.

Across the river from the hotel is some kind of rock crushing/processing plant. It is at least a couple hundred yards away, so the noise is minimal, but it is there. First night, the temperature was just right, and we went to sleep with no fan and the balcony door cracked. At about 5am, the beep-beep-beep of trucks backing up started. For our additional nights, we slept with the fan going, and it covered the noise. Other than the beep-beep-beep, very quiet at night.

The included breakfast was very good, but oddly no milk and no cereal. Plenty of bagels, donuts, toast, juice and breakfast bars.

There was a mix up with our reservation (they did not have one for us). Fortunately, I had printed out the confirmation email. It took about an hour of messing around before we finally got into a room that matched our reservation (first room offered was facing the parking lot, despite the printed confirmation clearly stating we had reserved a water view room). Not appreciated after a long day of driving.

This was an expensive room for us, but overall I think we got our money's worth. The balcony was great for relaxing, as we had superb temperatures.

The property has a small dock, which you can sit on and get some sun in the early afternoon.

Driving tip: A great day trip/drive is taking Cape Arago Highway to Yoakam Point State Park, and the onto Cape Arago State Park. Nice hikes, great views. Maybe Sea Lions!

Eating tip: In downtown Coos Bay, try Little Italy. Amazing Italian food and service, in a remote Oregon coastal town. A great surprise for us.

Room Tip: Water view room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby, Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The best photo of this place is certainly the one showing the hotel from the water side TO hotel. A photo from the hotel would show a narrow river-like inlet with an enormous factory on the opposite shore. The hotel is in the factory area of Coos Bay, and the place shares a huge parking lot with Safeway and a Fred Meyer super store. There may be spaces for 700- 800 cars in those lots. But naming it the Edgewater Inn and showing it on the edge of a body of water makes it appear to be a glorious resort type structure and property. I was deeply disappointed in my stay there as it is a half-step up from a Motel 6 and, as others have mentioned, this structure is in need of serious renovation.

There is a camera on you when you go to the meager breakfast "buffet" (donuts and danish is about it) and a sign warning you to take only what you will eat. I suppose the place suffers from donut thiefves.

Room Tip: Stay at another motel in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Needs a major renovation. False front dresser drawers (they loom like drawers but they don't really pull out), fake plants on the tables, 20 year old bedspreads, and way too many threatening paper signs taped up everywhere. My son leaned back Ina recliner chairing the lobby, and knocked over a floor lamp that was incorrectly placed right behind the chair. When the lamp fell over the woman at the front desk (who had seen the whole thing) looked over at my son and husband and yelled over to them "pick that up please." How's that for customer service!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have stayed her Two times now it has a great view of the dyke and a good breakfast. It had an arcade,indoor pool,gym,and contenental breakfast good for the price of 55$ and 105$ in the summer. It is also very close to the Safeway which you can walk to for food. Great famliy place best hotel in Coos Bay.

Room Tip: Choose a second store room on the right less people and good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We went up in July for two nights.
The rooms are decent. Ours had a hot plate type stove, microwave, refrigerator, sink etc.
A sliding door leads to your balbony if you get a water side room.
The fitness center is just a couple tread mils and I think they had a small wight machine.
The pool and hot tub finishes are ready to be re-done.
Its indoor and there is not much furniture.
In the morning, you can fill up on a continental style breakfast that is included.
Cereal, fruit, bagels, donuts (of different kinds) oatmeal, coffe, juices etc etc.
I gave it four because its a good deal and they are nice.
Overall, the building and rooms are about a three... The pool and got tub are 2 1/2.

Room Tip: Waterside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Another reviewer called it "kinda old but very homey and comfortable. Queen sized beds that were oh so good. Donut breakfast with coffee in room. Big bathroom. Private balcony. Within walking distance to Safeway that has Starbucks!"

We are kinda old also, and this place suited us just fine. I would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Address: 275 E Johnson Ave, Coos Bay, OR 97420
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Coos Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coos Bay's only waterfront motel, the Edgewater Inn is located one block off of Highway 101 in the heart of the southern Oregon coast's recreational and business capital. The motel offers waterfront rooms, standard units, spa rooms, hot tub suite, full kitchen suite, and a two room suite. Indoor pool & hot tub and exercise room, business center, cont. breakfast in the lobby each morning, and guest laundry with washer & dryer (fee). Pets are welcome (fee). Within minutes you can visit Oregon's sand dunes, ocean beaches, premier restaurants, golf, fishing, and the world famous Shore Acres State Park. Whale watching, hiking, biking, crabbing, beachcombing, dune buggies, spectacular sunsets - it's all here waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Coos Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.