We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you think” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plainview Motel & RV Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Plainview Motel & RV Park to your Saves list
Plainview Motel & RV Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91904 Cape Arago Hwy, Coos Bay, OR 97420   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Eagle Point, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not what you think”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed a weekend here and had an awesome time with very friendly people. not many choices near the Charleston area to choose from but very thankful we chose this one. buildings are older, but service was absolutely great. Will be back here in near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    3
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olivet, SD
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

It surprises me to read the negatives about this motel. The writers must be the types who demand a chocolate chip on their pillow every night, a swimming pool, a tiny bowl of cereal and a day old doughnut for their free breakfast. Granted the motel is old, but is superbly remodeled. The rooms are large, clean and quiet. Granted, too, the permanent RV/trailer park in back is messy and bit of an eyesore, but you only see it for a split second when you drive in. My wife and I were guests there for 7 days. Derek, the manager, and the hotel staff were as friendly and accommodating as could be. They shared their crabbing and clamming information, supplied the equipment to do both, and cleaned and cooked your catch right on premises. In all it was a pleasant interlude and we would return again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Go to enjoy; don't expect the Waldorf-Astoria and you'll be happy you stayed..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Nevada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I booked the cabin online in November 2011 for our week vacation in July 2012. Called to verify accomodations 2 weeks prior to leaving. All was confirmed as was booked. Got to Coos Bay after a 2 day trip and many hours on the road. Was told by the manager that we were booked the next day and on. He told us he would figure something out. We were offered the vacation suite for one night for $60 more. Took it and decided to keep it because of more room. (We should have been offered a discount). The place seemed ok but very musty and moldy smelling. Cigarette butts in the window seals and just barley kept up. They seemed so proud of this place. I have stayed in nicer and cleaner places for $149 a night. Tried to make the best but most people here in the park are scary. People fighting and not so friendly. Manager not very professional. NEVER AGAIN! I planned almost a year for my trip here to Coos Bay and unfortunatley the Plain View Motel, staff and residents made me never want to visit again!

Room Tip: My tip, drive away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This was our third visit to Plainview. Our last visit we brought our kids because of the clamming and crabbing. This time it was just me and my wife. The manager recommened we take the waterfront property. We are glad we did take it. It was so tranquil and pleasant with a great view over looking the bay. I recommend it to anyone. The manager gave us some fresh fish and they always treat us like family. We will come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circle Pines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

It was nice and clean, lots of room. We would go back, no problem. I loved walking through the trail to the beach, it was like going thru a "secret garden". The staff fellow was so nice, he told us how to go crabbing and provided the equipment, and then he cooked them up for us. There was a small garage sale going on and it was fun to visit with the sellers. It is very convenient, just a couple steps from your car to your room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

It was as clean and freshgly painted as can be. The bed was fine. There was a smell of dead fish inside and outside the room which may not be the fault of the operators.
It was not in our three year old GPS and was hard to find. It's off the beaten track.
It was quiet.
The fellow on the reception phone was very patient and treated us well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

The room I was in was nice we stayed before and was impressesd with the improvements. we booked it online through expedia. They were putting up a mural while we were there and cooked our crab for us. Great bang for your buck they have a beach across the street and a clam guide took us out. The kids really had a blast we really had a nice time customer service was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plainview Motel & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plainview Motel & RV Park

Address: 91904 Cape Arago Hwy, Coos Bay, OR 97420
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Coos Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Plainview Motel & RV Park 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sometimes referred to as the Mural Motel, Plainview Motel & RV Park is located along the beautiful Southern Oregon Coastline near Charleston. Charleston is situated along Cape Arago Highway and is part of the Coos Bay / North Bend, Bay Area. There are many outdoor recreation spots and attractions that make this the Bay Area's favorite and most traveled gateway along the Oregon Coast. Be sure to check out the events in our area this coming year! Our beautiful area makes for a wonderful vacation spot for families. So if you've been thinking about a great place to vacation, please give us a call and come stay awhile. We hope you make Plainview Motel & RV Park your favorite place to stay along the Oregon Coast. Don't forget we are just a short distance from Bandon Dunes Golf Courses and Southwest Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Plainview Motel & RV Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plainview Motel & RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.