We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Price Marginal Room for the Night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plainview Motel & RV Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Plainview Motel & RV Park to your Saves list
Plainview Motel & RV Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91904 Cape Arago Hwy, Coos Bay, OR 97420   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Low Price Marginal Room for the Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

It was as clean and freshgly painted as can be. The bed was fine. There was a smell of dead fish inside and outside the room which may not be the fault of the operators.
It was not in our three year old GPS and was hard to find. It's off the beaten track.
It was quiet.
The fellow on the reception phone was very patient and treated us well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    3
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

The room I was in was nice we stayed before and was impressesd with the improvements. we booked it online through expedia. They were putting up a mural while we were there and cooked our crab for us. Great bang for your buck they have a beach across the street and a clam guide took us out. The kids really had a blast we really had a nice time customer service was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitcat22
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I'm thinking this would be a quaint, old-timey motel, like Route 66 style. Should have cost $40/night!
And it's probably fun to clam and crab across the street.
But it is so worn out! It looks like they haven't put a dime into modernization. Look at the pics for window screens that are frayed. The shower seems to have been painted at some point, and it's peeling and bubbling off. The TV is an oldie, though they DO have cable.
The vertical blinds on the main window don't fully cover the space. If you pull them together in the middle, there is a gap at the side. And vice versa. Kinda creepy.
One think I really like is that they triple sheeted the bed!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We booked this motel at the last minute as part of the last leg of our trip, reviews suggested that although the area was a bit intimidating the motel was good value for money. We paid $74 for the night, having paid similar amounts previously on this trip we thought we knew what to expect - basic but clean - however the room had a terrible smell of damp, the toilet was placed in such a way that you couldn't sit down straight on it and it was not attached to the floor or wall. We spent the absolute minimum amount of time in the room but I still woke up wheezing the next morning. We will not be back..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011 via mobile

It was very basic but suited our needs. I wish we would have had the time or energy to take them up on their offer to go clamming and crabbing. I was glad to see they still offered that perk. If you have kids that'd be something fun to try.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Cute rooms with full kitchens. They took us clamming (across the street) and crabbing. This is our fouth visit. This time we stayed in the Wygant beach house. It is right on the water, just like being on a cruise ship, peaceful and tranquil. Management was alway helpful and friendly. I understand they know have some room and deep sea fishing combos. They also have a vacation rental home with two sections which can sleep up to twelve people if you take both sides. This place is the best bargain on the west coast. If you golf at Bandon Dunes (1/2 hour away) and save a lt of money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Stayed in the two bedroom house with husband, kids and cousins! Went crabbing for the small cost of bait, which conveiently they sell right at the Plain View. Upon returning, the manager not only help clean the crab rings that he loans out at no cost, but he atually cleaned and boiled our crab to perfection! Clamming is right across the street. Staff has great knowledge of the area. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plainview Motel & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plainview Motel & RV Park

Address: 91904 Cape Arago Hwy, Coos Bay, OR 97420
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Coos Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Plainview Motel & RV Park 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sometimes referred to as the Mural Motel, Plainview Motel & RV Park is located along the beautiful Southern Oregon Coastline near Charleston. Charleston is situated along Cape Arago Highway and is part of the Coos Bay / North Bend, Bay Area. There are many outdoor recreation spots and attractions that make this the Bay Area's favorite and most traveled gateway along the Oregon Coast. Be sure to check out the events in our area this coming year! Our beautiful area makes for a wonderful vacation spot for families. So if you've been thinking about a great place to vacation, please give us a call and come stay awhile. We hope you make Plainview Motel & RV Park your favorite place to stay along the Oregon Coast. Don't forget we are just a short distance from Bandon Dunes Golf Courses and Southwest Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Plainview Motel & RV Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plainview Motel & RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.