We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Bistro

Blue Heron Bistro
100 Commercial Ave, Coos Bay, OR 97420
541 267 3933
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 66 Restaurants in Coos Bay
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: German, Seafood, Fish & Chips, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Anaheim, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Couldn't wish for more friendly staff, wonderful people. The food was excellent - if I'd not eaten so much I'd have had another lot. The choice on the menu covered all tastes, the wine and beer list was comprehensive and included Taunton Blackthorn Cider (Hard). We thoroughly enjoyed our meals and had a very pleasant conversation with the staff while the meals were being prepared. Cannot understand why the locals refuse to use this magic place, still it’s their loss not mine. Only complaint we have is that it’s a little to far away. Coos bay isn’t next door to Anaheim or even 50 miles up the road unfortunately. Thank you Blue Heron for an evening to remember

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    42
    28
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“food o.k but service lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on it's proximity to our hotel which was within walking distance and the menu options sounded good.Upon arrival we were greeted by a waitress which was pleasant then seated and presented with menu's. The restaurant was not overly busy but only one server who seemed to be a little overwhelmed. We waited for drinks for a fair bit and then placed our orders. The restaurant seemed to have strict rules regarding menu options. They specialize in Schnitzels of various types. We wanted one regular schnitzel and requested a side of sauce since that particular one had none. We were told this was not a menu item and therefore not possible. With so many varieties of schnitzel offered with a sauce option I thought this would be quite do-able. The young girl in our group admittedly was a little choosey and did not want the schnizel and sauce combinations listed on the menu. But the sauce requested was offered for many so again I don't think it was an unreasonable request to ask for the regular schnitzel with a separate order of sauce. Our group was very polite and if this was the restaurant policy we had to accept it. We asked for french fries with our meals and after placing our order the chef appeared to let us all know they were out of fries. It struck me as odd since it was only 7:00 p.m. but o.k. We chose potatoes instead. Our dinners were quite good and when we finished we waited for a long time. Our plates were not cleared away and we were ready to leave so finally went up to the cash register. The chef appeared again who also appeared to be the owner.He asked the server to retrieve our bill as we were waiting. She became agitated and told everyone that she had worked for ten hours now and had the right to have a break. We did not tip her. As I said the menu was good and the food decent but the service lacking.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Taste of Deutschland in Oregon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a very personal place with Adam waiting your table and cooking your meal! We loved it. The Rouladen was authentic and the Weiner Schnitzel was a very generous portion as well. Spatzel was delicious. A great find in the North West just off 101 too! A great selection of German beers and atmosphere that is just down home comfortable for couples or families. Don't miss this one.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I had the brat with sauerkraut and rye bread with a side of spaetzel. Delicious. Took home a doggy bag. Did not share with the dog!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquille, Oregon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Ach tu liber!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Really, really good German cuisine. The red cabbage is to die for and the schnitzel is superb. The owner knows how to cook authentic German food and he has a good selection of European beers and wines.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heron Bistro also viewed

Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Blue Heron Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.