We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife watchers wonderland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Arago State Park

Cape Arago State Park
Coos Bay, OR
800-551-6949
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Attractions in Coos Bay
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Albany, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wildlife watchers wonderland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Well worth the drive north from Bandon. Several state parks along the drive give many opportunities to stop and look for wildlife. Sealions, pelicans, harlequin ducks, grebes, perigrin falcon and osytercatchers start our list of sightings. Another "must return" from this trip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    21
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseburg, OR
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a great place to see the power and beauty of the Pacific Ocean. The gardens nearby are also worth the visit at various times of the year. Christmas is especially pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great tide pools”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This sister park to Shore Acres (THE local MUST VISIT) boasts a spectacular seal and sea lion preserve and a fantastic beach-comber setting. At low tides, the rocky pools are overflowing with a wide variety of spectacular sea life. Children should be closely watched and sure footed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“So many Seals and Sea Lions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Simpson Reef and Cape Arago which is teaming with seals and sea lions and the croup-like noise is pure music. Take your binoculars, wear a jacket. We saw whales spouting and breeching in the distance from this location too!

Also close by is Shore Acres State Park. They have some beautiful gardens here and some of the most AMAZING rock formations I've ever seen. It really is like an other planetary scape. That's me looking through one of them above. We skip the gardens this time...they're really better in the early summer. That, and we don't have time. I love crawling around on the rocks. We take tons of photos here. It just FEELS good. The energy of the ocean and the beautiful, grounding rocks...AHHHHH.

Sidebar: The book A Gathering of Finches by Jane Kirkpatrick is a fun historical novel about the history of Shore Acres. Check it out (link below to purchase).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEBANON
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The views are great. Enjoyed the lighthouse view and the rugged rocks. This is a very pretty stretch of ocean.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Arago State Park also viewed

Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Cape Arago State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Arago State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.