We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Cafe - CLOSED

Empire Cafe
525 Newmark Ave., Coos Bay, OR
+1 541-808-0808
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French, Italian, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This place is located in a not so great part of town but the food is absolutely amazing! The food quality is top notch and the portions are amazing. Definitely try it if you are in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    9
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chehalis, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome food awesome service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Once in a long while you 'accidentally' find a restaurant that is so good you want to tell everyone you know about it. I was in Coos Bay for business and needed to eat and I came across Empire Cafe. I went in without reservations (reservations are STRONGLY advised) and was kindly accommodated even with limited seating (it's a very small restaurant).

The offerings at first appeared to be a bit on the pricey side but the wine list was excellent which told me I was in for a treat. I was not expecting the quality of the meal to be as good as it was. I was so impressed I was humming to myself and smiling for hours after leaving.

The service was just right - right there when I needed it but not overly intrusive and always with a warm smile.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Oregon, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of our favorites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have enjoyed the dining experience at Empire Cafe several times. Care is taken with the ingredients and the preparation. The bread is baked next door at the bakery. The desserts are made in house. We haven't had a less than wonderful experience at this locally owned cafe.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food,wine,ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Empire cafe has amazing local fresh food! Their fresh seafood and burger are out of this world! Great selection of wine and cocktails. Beautiful artwork done by the owner and a crackling fire makes this place so enjoyable and cozy on a cold rainy evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, Oregon
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Tres Chic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Chic little place in a not-so-chic part of town and one of the earlier attempts at gentrification orf the neighborhood and a successful one at that. A small but ever changing and eclectic menu, always good bistro food. Excellent wine selection and a full bar. Small and intimate.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire Cafe also viewed

Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.