We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sharkbites

Sharkbites
240 S. Broadway, Coos Bay, OR 97420
541-269-7475
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 64 restaurants in Coos Bay
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Chapel Hill, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stopped in here for dinner one night. It is divided into a restaurant seating area and a bar area. It also has a clothing store of some sort in the back. They have a great local beer selection as well as a full bar. I chose the steelhead tacos for dinner. They had a nice spicy kick to them. We were there a little past the normal dinner hours so service was quick and food was there fast. The food was good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    78
    67
    16
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Bend, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Clam Chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great place, great food, friendly and helpful staff. And they have a really cool fish hanging over the bar named Miss Bubba!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Food but plan a wait for it to cook”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stopped and ate dinner there. We ordered two plates that were fried and overall, the food was great. A little more fried food than we expected. Regardless it was very good. Our only complaint was that it took about 45 minutes to get it after we ordered. Keep in mind that they were extremely busy so plan ahead and order a appetizer right away before ordering.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Spicy fish tacos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Went here about 8pm on a Monday night and pretty much had the place to ourselves. Our waitress was attentive and the food wait time was average (not overly long). We got the crab cakes appetizer and their special of Spicy Fish Tacos. I had the steelhead tacos and my husband got cod (or maybe halibut, cant remember). Both were excellent and pretty spicy. My mouth was on fire when I finished but it was so good I couldn't stop! I think there were 3 or 4 tacos per order so it ended up being very filling. I also had a Crater Lake Root Beer which was good as well. Hubby had a regular soda. Our total with tip came to $54. Not cheap but about par for a classy casual seafood place. The decor is super neat too, driftwood, glass float lights and coffee sacks on the walls. Wish we could go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love this spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Do yourself a favor and check out this treasure in downtown Coos Bay! Friendly, attentive servers. Chill, comfortable ambience. Excellent, fresh food. This is a great place to enjoy a great conversation with a group of friends or to take your partner for a casual, romantic evening. The locally crafted art pieces add a little something special. Overall my favorite spot to visit while I'm in town for work.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sharkbites also viewed

 
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sharkbites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharkbites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.