We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Acres State Park

Shore Acres State Park
Coos Bay, OR
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Coos Bay
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Whale watching, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The park has created a "garden for all seasons" and an observation building which offers spectacular views of seascapes and migrating whales.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Always interesting with its variety of landscapes and view. Well groomed and seems like a wonderful place to spend a good deal of time. We have it on our list for 'must return' when we have more time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    22
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Photographer's Dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I don't even really care for botanical gardens or gardens much in general, but this was unreal. This was one of our stops along the coast and we were not too sure what to expect. The view of the ocean was beautiful. I felt like I was in another world. They do a fantastic job of the upkeep.There are so many different varieties of flowers and plants. There is a nice trail that will lead you down to a small beach. This is a wonderful state park and I hope it has enough support to last forever.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Such gorgeous gardens!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a drop-dead beautiful place. The ocean overlook is astounding as well. The gardens were absolutely perfect and it was a nice walk. The volunteers were very helpful and friendly. Definitely worth the stop!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquille, Oregon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The gardens are beautiful and that in itself is reason to go to Shore Acres. However, the views of the ocean, the cliffs and the rocks below are spectacular! I loved being there on a very stormy day and watching the waves break onto the cliffs and the spray coming up over the top. Wear a good waterproof jacket with a hood!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spectacular views of the ocean! Make a point of spending some time to stroll through the botanical gardens....the grounds are impeccably kept, and well worth paying the $5 day use fee.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shore Acres State Park also viewed

Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Shore Acres State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Acres State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.