We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a quaint and excellent "Historic Hotel"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Condon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Condon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Condon
Save
You added Hotel Condon to your Saves list
202 South Main St, Condon, OR 97823   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Condon
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“a quaint and excellent "Historic Hotel"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

All of the recent reviews are "right on", the wine/cheese, friendly staff (Stacey and Rob), and the continental breakfast.

The hotel no longer operates its restarurant, but there are nice places to snack/eat right across the street.

A nice, comfortable place....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    18
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
44
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This restored hotel is perfect for its locale - comfortable, inviting, clean and cozy. The recently restored rooms are nicely furnished and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful, pointing out several nearby areas where there are great opportunities for sightseeing and photography. Wine and cheese in the evening and a Continental breakfast are nice touches (included in the rate.) All in all, it was a perfect stay. We'll return again. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: As in most old buildings, the floors can be a little squeaky. I recommend the top (3rd) floor for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I'm a Portland-based photographer and author who hosts photo workshops in the Pacific Northwest. We'd always wanted to do a workshop in some of the more remote areas of Central Oregon, but it's difficult to find hotel accommodations that fit our upscale clientele. We were about to give up when we found the Hotel Condon. My business partner and I visited the hotel during the dead of winter and found it to be exactly what we were looking for. This historic hotel has lots of old fashioned charm, and it's been recently updated. It's also close to a number of areas we wanted to photograph, such as The Painted Hills, wind turbine farms, the John Day Fossil Beds, and the town of Fossil.

We returned last weekend with 16 people and took over much of the Hotel. The staff took great care of us and went out of their way to insure we were having a good time. The manager, Rob, hooked us up with a local caterer who served a wonderful meal in the hotel's beautiful dinning room, which is now used for special occasions only. Rob also had great advice about places to go for food and interesting photo opportunities.

We heard nothing but good reports from our clients who were surprised by this gem in the middle of nowhere. Many said they plan to return for another visit. I know I will.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillamook, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Everything about our stay was perfect. The rooms were comfortable, and the suite provided a great place for all of the family to hang out in the evening after a fun dinner across the street. The staff were fantastic, giving us lots of information about the area and meeting our every need, including a lovely wine, beer and cheese reception in the late afternoon after we'd been out getting dusty and parched. I'd recommend this place to anyone passing through this part of Oregon, not to be missed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baker County
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We've lived in Oregon for 7 years and finally made the trip just 3 miles off highway 26 at highway 19 to get to the Thomas Condon Paleontology Center. The scenic drive was full of beauty, history and wildlife. The Hotel Condon is an absolute gem. Cheese and wine reception when we arrived, the gal at the front desk told us all she knew about the area, gave us a tour of all the rooms, and even had a cold O'douls for my hubby. Quite rooms, super clean, luxury accommodations. We will be back!

Room Tip: The suites are spacious and share the building's central air. Economy rooms will still pamper y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We recently enjoyed a stay in this old hotel. The building is 90+ years old but has been beautifully renovated. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. They went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The room was very large with a separate living area, bedroom and bath. It was tastefully decorated and very clean. Condon is a very small town but this hotel is worth the side trip if you are in the John Day area of Oregon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

You might think that paying more than $150/night night be excessive for Central Oregon, but you'd be wrong. This is our second visit and it exceeded the first one. We arrived with a group of 18 and were greeted with wine, beer, snack and personal attention from the manager that lasted until just before our dinner. The dinner which we arranged to be catered in the hotel dining room (by local luch shop owner and caterer Sandi) was also terrific. There were new sheets on the beds and everything was spotlessly clean. The continental breakfast was not fancy, but just what we needed to get us on our way.
I can't say enough about the manager, Rob; he went way beyond the expected to make our group comfortable without intruding. This is the only place to stay in the area (for practical purposes), and definitely worth going a long way out of your way just to experience a historic hotel which has done a remodel just right, by preserving the history, but adding all the modern comforts.

Room Tip: any of the queen suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Condon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condon

Address: 202 South Main St, Condon, OR 97823
Location: United States > Oregon > Condon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Condon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1920, Hotel Condon was completely remodeled combining its historic charm with the luxury of modern amenities. The hotel offers 18 rooms and suites, as well as the Sage Lounge & Restaurant. From its location in the scenic wheat county to the elegantly furnished guest rooms, Hotel Condon makes a unique and relaxing getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Condon Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Condon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.