We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, quaint and cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Condon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Condon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Condon
Save
You added Hotel Condon to your Saves list
202 South Main St, Condon, OR 97823   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Condon
Whitby, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, quaint and cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

My husband, daughter and I were on an eight day driving trip in Oregon. After spending a day touring the John Day fossil beds, our last stop was Condon before heading back to Portland the following day. From the moment you step foot in the Hotel Condon greeted by the smell of scented candles, a complimentary wine and cheese reception in the elegant lobby, you feel pampered. The rooms were equally lovely. A continental breakfast was served on the second floor lounge complete with fireplace and big comfy chairs. Rob Turrie, the general manager, told us about all the "must-see's" in Portland where we were spending a second week before returning home to Toronto, ON. I highly recommend the Hotel Condon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    18
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
44
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

After several days of camping in the John Day area we stopped in Condon at the only hotel around. This is a beautiful old hotel built in the 1930s and well kept up. The ambiance is wonderful and the manager is very friendly and interesting. Although the room has a TV, I can't imagine watching TV here. We both read the April 1945 issue of Life Magazine on the table, which seemed much more fitting for the setting. In the morning I chatted with a couple from London over a light breakfast. The only sad thing is that the beautiful dining room is no longer in operation, which leaves to the dinner option to the local burger spot - Twist & Shake. If you're okay with burgers or fish and chips this hotel is definitely a place to stay.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor corner was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I was on a cross-country bike trip with a friend when we found ourselves in the middle of a long stretch with nowhere to stay. A quick check showed that there was a hotel in Condon and so we made a booking w/no idea of what it was like.

WOW! WOW! and WOW! This was one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in....and I've traveled quite a bit. The room was a throwback to an earlier time when management actually cared about your comfort. It was all of the small touches that got to me, from the mints to the complimentary glass of wine to the quality robes (no thin chenille for this hotel!) and even to the laundry basket in the bathroom. Everything was first rate. Rob, the general manager, made arrangements for us to check in after (very late) hours and it went smoothly. In the morning, we enjoyed a complimentary continental breakfast in the 2nd floor lounge (really doesn't describe just how comfortable it was).

Please do yourself a favor and check this hotel out if you're in the area. I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We planned our trip to Eastern OR with another couple and we selected our accommodations from the internet. Our first stop was Condon. Condon is a very small, quiet town with no big attractions to see. However, a trip to Condon is advised just to stay at the beautiful, comfortable Hotel Condon! This historic hotel is a must for anyone traveling east in Oregon. We arrived in town around 1pm and were greeted by the Hotel Manager, Rob Turrie, who checked us in. He took time to visit with us and made sure we were comfortably settled. The rooms are clean and cozy. When we told him our plans for the afternoon, he suggested that we only do one of our events in order to be back for complimentary wine and cheese. We were happy that we followed his advice. At 4pm he presented us with a delicious platter of cheese, crackers, and fruit with the wine. We spent a delightful two hours enjoying the wine and cheese and visiting with Rob. He even gave us a tour of the hotel's most beautiful dining room and kitchen facilities which are currently not in use and a good suggestion for dinner in Fossil. He said when you return to the hotel, there will be no cars on the main street and he was right. We let ourselves in for the night and morning greeted us with an attractive continental breakfast set up in the atrium. Before we left for our next stop, Rob gave us a map and highlighted places we should see. We were very thankful he took the time to do this for us. This is a "first-class establishment" from the moment you put your foot in the door until you say good-bye with hope in your heart that you will be able to return to Condon to enjoy this magnificent hotel and its staff once again. We highly recommend the Hotel Condon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

In the 3rd week of Sept, 2011, we and another couple were on a "bucket list" trip to explore the northeast corner of our home state - Oregon. Somehow, after 70 and plus years of Oregon residency, we'd never been there. Our first overnight stop was Condon, an extremely small, very old town. From the exterior, the Hotel Condon also looked old, but well preserved. The interior was a DELIGHTFUL surprise! Rob, the hotel manager checked us in, made a phone call for us to check if a certain restaurant was open in Fossil for dinner, then served us very generous portions of wine/beer with an artfully arranged cheese and cracker tray for an "on the house" happy hour, in a luxurious, sort of Craftsman style lobby. A storehouse of information, Rob chatted with us, filling us in on history of the area, places to see, etc. Without making it look like it took a lot of effort, he made us feel immediately comfortable and welcome. Our rooms were spotless, spacious, quiet, and beautifully decorated. We slept great! The bathrooms had high quality soaps, shampoos and lotions, even bathrobes. The next morning, in the lovely atrium on the 2nd floor, Rob had a delicious and plentiful continental breakfast ready for us. Then he gave us a tour of the dining room and kitchen that is now used only for weddings, business meetings, or other special events, and sent us off with a map on which he'd noted other places we should stop on our tour. Our next 4 nights were spent at a variety of hotels, even a bed and breakfast inn - nice, but none as special as the Hotel Condon. Without Rob, it would still have been a VERY lovely stopover, but a great part of our pleasure was his welcoming attitude and warm personality. THANK YOU, Rob!!!

Room Tip: Just ask Rob!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Strictly speaking, the hotel itself is probably only a 4 star facility. It is a beautifully renovated historic hotel. Overstuffed sofas, wood and brass gleaming everywhere. But it lacks facilities - e.g. a dining room. And the rooms tend to be a bit small. And ours had a noisy in-window a/c. But a combination of factors tip the rating to 5 stars. First is the host - Rob. He is an excellent source of of information. He will make sure your stay is a good one. Second - the feel of the town itself, in combination with the hotel. Others have referred to "The Shining." There is definitely a strange feeling being comparatively alone in such a beautiful historic place. Third - the movie theatre next door. First run movies are shown Fri/Sat/Sun nights in the old wooden movie theatre. Popcorn is less than $2. There is a balcony. We saw "Rise of Planet of the Apes" with about a dozen local folks. At 9pm, after the movie was over, they left and ours was the only car on the town's main street. That night we were alone in the hotel (staff is gone after 7pm). Fourth - the proximity to the John Day Fossil Beds - this hotel makes a great base to see this incredible National Monument. Allow 2 days because the sites are quite spread out.
As others have said - the hotel is quite beautiful and the continental breakfast is lovely. That said, you'd be advised to bring food for evenings and if you need something other than continental breakfast. We filled a cooler before coming. (Nothing was open in the morning; and we tended to cut a 7pm return quite close). This was our first real stop on a tour of Oregon and it was a superb experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

I recently stayed at the Hotel Condon, basically by luck. I had just ridden 500 plus miles on my MC and I was beat. I made my reservation the day of my arrival while enroute. When I arrived, I was shocked that such a small, remote town had such a nice, and I mean really, really nice hotel. It is like an oasis. Upon my arrival, Cassie, the most personable and friendly young lady greeted me, checked me in and offered me complimentary wine, cheese and crackers. That hit the spot. Cassie offered routing tips, and let us know that if we didn't eat by 7:PM we would be out of luck. Another guest and I enjoyed the reception and just about missed dinner. Cassie called the only remaining eating establishment to let them know we were on our way and not to close. The service that I experienced was superb!! The hotel looks like someone's labor of love as every detail has been taken care of. While the lounge and dining room are currently on hold, they are absolutely fantastic, the tables, the furnishings, the paintings, everything. This property is truly unique and my wife would absolutely love it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Condon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condon

Address: 202 South Main St, Condon, OR 97823
Location: United States > Oregon > Condon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Condon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1920, Hotel Condon was completely remodeled combining its historic charm with the luxury of modern amenities. The hotel offers 18 rooms and suites, as well as the Sage Lounge & Restaurant. From its location in the scenic wheat county to the elegantly furnished guest rooms, Hotel Condon makes a unique and relaxing getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Condon Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Condon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.