We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice steak BUT salad shouldn't have to be an add-on!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford's Restaurant & Bar

Stanford's Restaurant & Bar
8416 SE Sunnyside Rd, Clackamas, OR 97015
(503) 653-9400
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Stanford's Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 75 Restaurants in Clackamas
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sunnyside Rd & 8600 Block
Milwaukie,Oregon
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice steak BUT salad shouldn't have to be an add-on!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Good service, good steak! But this is Clackamas County! We wear jeans, ball caps, and hoodies AND we expect our salad to come with our dinner not as an extra charge to an already spendy meal. I mean "come on", you are next to aKohl's, DMV, and SushiLand!! Get off your high horse!! If you have a visitor from L.A., this place might impress them, but for your local friends-take them to Saylor's for a great steak and a whole meal at one price!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stanford's Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We finally found a tender, tasty steak in Portland. We're used to the corn-fed steaks in Iowa and find steaks in Portland rather tough and chewy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scio, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, good atmosphere, good company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My son took my husband, me and his family to dinner New Year's Eve at Stanford's. They seated us at a nice able for 6 in the back. My grandson is 6, and my granddaughter is 13. My granddaughter ordered the pizza with Italian sausage and chevre. I convinced her to get the chevre on the side. It was amazing. Thin crust, flavorful, and a good size. Yummy! I ordered the ahi tuna appetizer and salad, and it was delicious. My husband had the steak medallions, and it was great! Oh, and the cheese bread is wonderful too. Great food, a good atmosphere and food kids will eat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Stanford's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Barbara S,

Thanks so much for the kind words and review. Happy to hear New Years Eve was a wonderful experience!

Cheers - The Stanford's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful happy hour ..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stopped in for a quick bite and drink, and happened to hit the beginning of Happy Hour. They have a special small menu for Happy Hour, and it was perfect for us. Service was very good, the Ribs & Ring were phenomenal, and the whole experience was very positive. Will definitely go back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Stanford's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Ceevee1040,

Thanks so much for stopping in! We appreciate the great review and feedback. Thanks again and we look forward to serving you again soon!

Cheers - The Stanford's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The Lavender Cosmo was beyond awsome! The happy hour menu is pretty good. And they have everything from a great cheeseburger to a wonderful fish taco.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Stanford's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
scrubcat,

Thanks so much for the great review and kind words.

Cheers - The Stanford's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanford's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Clackamas, Clackamas County
Clackamas, Clackamas County
 
Clackamas, Clackamas County
Clackamas, Clackamas County
 

Been to Stanford's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.