We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay! But with minor gripes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monarch Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Monarch Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Monarch Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12566 S.E. 93rd Ave., Clackamas, OR 97015   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clackamas
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay! But with minor gripes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I really like this hotel! Nice location, great beds, and awesome staff. But I must say my Criticisms:
The pool is closed during the spring
The sky bridge makes things confusing and one can easily get lost
The TVs are old style CRTs
A gap in the bottom of the door allows noise to enter

Overall a great stay

P.S. I made a video on this hotel, here is the link:

http://youtu.be/W7kc-funBmw

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the review and great job on the you tube video!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    48
    26
    6
    13
See reviews for
29
22
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our 50th Anniversary reception/dinner was recently held at the Monarch Hotel. The Catering Manager, Banquet Manager, Banquet Captain and supporting staff, were wonderful to work with. We had many positive compliments from guests on the ballroom and food. All of this made our 50th Anniversary party memorable for us. I would highly recommend the Monarch Hotel and Conference Center to anyone planning a reception of any kind.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent event at the Monarch. We are proud to have celebrated this memorable day with you and your guests!

Congratulations on 50 years of marriage. We hope to have the honor of hosting your Diamond Anniversary as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The pool was closed but no one could tell us why, other than it was filthy. The air conditioner was so noisy I turned it off and opened the window. That was actually nice because I could hear the waterfalls outside. Bed was comfortable and the room was reasonably clean.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
I am sorry that the staff member you spoke with was unaware of our pool opening on Memorial Day weekend. Power washing of the pool deck was completed right before opening as was installation of our pool lift. We did have some unseasonably warm weather at the top of May and were unfortunately not able to change the scheduled lift installation and power washing to accommodate an earlier opening date.

I am glad you found the beds comfortable and were able to enjoy the babble of the waterfall. Thank you for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

More than adequate hotel with a great staff. Never met a staff member who wasn't friendly and professional. Rooms are nothing special, but more than adequate. Pool was closed, but it is required sometimes. Very nice arrangement with fitness club one block away. A/C in room was a bit noisy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at the Monarch. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit! I am sorry that you missed the opportunity to use our pool (opened on May 24th for the season) -you might have to plan another trip to Clackamas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The place is clean and well located to shopping centers and restaurants. The guys at the front desk were really nice and helpful. I heard they have a great breakfast, but did not have time for that, but a pleasant stay here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Mataturider

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope next time you will be able to enjoy some Bob's Red Mill oatmeal or one of Rusty's awesome omelettes before you head out!

Thank you for the post!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We found the Monarch by accident, we thought we had called The Residentce Inn. Long story short, we were disappointed at first, but after checking in and going to our room we were very pleasantly surprised by the inside of the hotel and the rooms. We have stayed at the Monarch at least 12 nights in the last two years, and plan on staying there for every future trip to Portland! Don't let the outside of the hotel chase you away, the rooms are very clean, plush and comfortable.
The staff are friendly and helpful. Great location close to Clackamas Mall and lots of restaurant choices.

Room Tip: Room on West side, put's you further from I-205.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your post and your continued patronage. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Or
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our Bowling League has chosen the Monarch for our annual bowling banquet on many occasions. The facility is perfect for our group of around 60 people although they can accomodate far more. As the coordinator of the banquet I found they were very easy to deal with and accommodating to special requests. The excellant service from the staff was seamless. The excellant food was prepared on time. Also the banquet room was beautifully set up and organized. Very classy. I highly recommend the Monarch for your banquet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your annual bowling banquet. We are glad to hear that your event was a success and that our food, service and staff met the Monarch's mission of "Providing the Hospitality that Brings the Guest Back"! We all look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monarch Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 12566 S.E. 93rd Ave., Clackamas, OR 97015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Clackamas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clackamas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monarch Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monarch Hotel & Conference Center is a full service hotel located at the intersection of I-205 and Sunnyside Road. We are right across from the Clackamas Town Center and Clackamas Promenade with over 250 shops and restaurants combined. The Clackamas Town Center also features a 20 screen tiered theater and a MAX light rail station (green line). Free parking and free airport transportation. Free transportation is also available within one mile of the hotel. Sam's Restaurant and Lounge is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as Sunday Brunch. Room service is available during restaurant hours. All rooms have Serta pillowtop beds, refrigerators, hairdryers, coffee makers and full size iron & iron board. The Monarch has over 20,000 sq. ft. of flexible banquet & meeting space with full on-site and off-site catering services available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Monarch Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Hotel Clackamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.