We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complains” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monarch Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Monarch Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Monarch Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12566 S.E. 93rd Ave., Clackamas, OR 97015   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clackamas
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“No complains”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Paid in advanced via priceline "name your own price". For the price paid, it met my expectation. Public areas (especially carpets) need overhaul for sure. Rooms renovation would be nice, but suffice for now. Beds were comfortable and noise wasn't an issue as I have requested quiet room. No issue with ventilation at all either. Excellent location that's just off I5 and super close to all shopping. Marriott courtyard would be my first choice but it was at least $20-30 more per night for the date I was travelling on.

Room Tip: Request rooms facing courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your December stay at the Monarch. We updated the lobby carpeting and furniture as well as the business center in January and our hallway carrpets are on our to-do list. We hope the next time you decide to enjoy some tax-free shopping at the Clackamas Town Center the Monarch will be your hotel of choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    46
    25
    6
    13
See reviews for
29
20
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Ca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at the Monarch while I was attending a Palmer/Pletsch sewing workshop. I was apprehensive about this hotel after reading some negative reviews, but I have to say, my experience was much more positive. The room itself was comfortable and spacious, with room for a comfortable chair and ottoman, a large table-desk, and a king-size bed that was quite comfortable and a nice clean bathroom area. The service people I had contact with were pleasant and helpful, and the drivers that took us to and picked us up from the workshop and the airport were friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was good, and the wait staff, attentive. I would stay here again, the next time I go to a workshop.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you taking the time to share about your recent experience with the Monarch. We love hosting the Palmer/Pletsch group and glad your found your stay enjoyable! Happy sewing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have been involved in organizing three national conventions for two different clubs at the Monarch, and I can't say enough good things about this place! Accommodating is literally what they do best - whatever you or your group needs, they will do their very best! The food is very good both in the restaurant and for banquet groups, the conference and exhibit spaces are the best in town for small or medium sized conventions, and the staff is extremely helpful. Its location just off the freeway is close to Clackamas Town Center and Promenade but it's far enough away from the traffic so it's nice and quiet. I also like the fact that it's locally owned and not part of a chain, and you can tell the difference - in fact, the owner might just stop by your table in the restaurant to say hello and ask how your meal is! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: See if you can get a room overlooking the courtyard - the pool looks nice lit up at night if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about the Monarch Hotel. Our mission statement at the Monarch is to "Provide the hospitality that brings the guest back" and I am glad to hear that our team has done well in fulfilling that goal! Thank you again for sharing. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future! -Tammy Thompson, Director of Sales and Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranda, More og Romsdal, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This place is nice, but extremely outdated. It has clean rooms, very well kept, but is a little reminecent of the 1980s. Definitely due for an overhaul. I am staying here because my employer booked me here, but would be just as happy at a Comfort Suites, or Holiday Inn. Don't book this place unless you get a good deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at the Monarch. We did complete a refresh of the lobby area in January as well as replaced carpeting/floor coverings in the restaurant and lounge. Hallway corridors are in the future. The next time you are visiting Portland, we hope that you will give us another look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I would hearily recommend this hotel and conference center. I attended a show and convention and they were very polite and accomodating.
Sam's restaurant is excellent. The chef is excellent. We just about ate everything on their Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner and found it delicious.
The servers were so polite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about Sam's Restaurant. We agree that Chef Al does an excellent job! Thank you again. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

To compete for business travellers, a hotel should provide some advantage over other properties. Unfortunately for the Monarch, they are below par in virtually every category: overpriced food, inconsistent or no wi-fi, no point program affiliation, smokers (including employees) congregating at the entrance and polluting the air and the lobby, LOTS of highway noise, dingy/stained rooms and probably the biggest tell: mostly unresponsive and in a couple of notable cases, rude staff. Customer service dictates that the hotel's problem should never translate to being the customer's problem...yet at least 2 staff members, including the night manager unapologetically and openingly blamed the customer for problems with the property clearly residing with hotel policy. The Monarch would make a better "hot-sheet motel" at $39 a night than the business traveller hotel they pretend to be. I will drive 20 minutes out of the way rather than stay at this place again and recommend that if you have even minimal lodging standards that you do the same. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: To find a good lodging experience, try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. If you have the time I would like you to contact me directly regarding the customer service issues noted so that the behavior and/or policy may be addressed.
Best regards,
Tammy Thompson, Director of Sales - 503.652-1515 - tthompson@monarchhotel.cc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Spent three nights here. Front desk very helpful, but best feature was location. You can see train station from location.
Room was ready when I came at 11:30AM. Could hear movement in next room, so don't expect complete quiet.
Did rent a car and there is no onsite rent a car program. Enterprise picks you up at the hotel and takes you to their store. For 10 dollars Enterprise will pick up the car at the hotel when you are ready to return the car. Airport shuttle is really convenient.
There is a place to wait for the shuttle at the airport outside the transportation signs. The pick up point is in across the street I believe in island B or C. It is clearly marked. All in all, a very nice location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay. We agree that it's great that the MAX green line is across the street -one of the most convenient ways to get to Saturday Market!
We hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monarch Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 12566 S.E. 93rd Ave., Clackamas, OR 97015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Clackamas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clackamas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monarch Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monarch Hotel & Conference Center is a full service hotel located at the intersection of I-205 and Sunnyside Road. We are right across from the Clackamas Town Center and Clackamas Promenade with over 250 shops and restaurants combined. The Clackamas Town Center also features a 20 screen tiered theater and a MAX light rail station (green line). Free parking and free airport transportation. Free transportation is also available within one mile of the hotel. Sam's Restaurant and Lounge is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as Sunday Brunch. Room service is available during restaurant hours. All rooms have Serta pillowtop beds, refrigerators, hairdryers, coffee makers and full size iron & iron board. The Monarch has over 20,000 sq. ft. of flexible banquet & meeting space with full on-site and off-site catering services available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Monarch Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Hotel Clackamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.