We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest Place for a Wedding!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monarch Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Monarch Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Monarch Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12566 S.E. 93rd Ave., Clackamas, OR 97015   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clackamas
Portland OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Greatest Place for a Wedding!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We just celebrated our son's wedding at the Monarch Hotel. The staff is so accomodating and the ballroom and location were perfect. The onsite catering was unbeliveable. Our family and friends could not compliment them enough for thier hospitality and great food and wonderful accomodations for our guests from out of town that stayed. The pool was beautiful and the rooms were gorgeous. Thank you Monarch hotel and especially your staff Tammy and Garrett who really made our day for our son unforgettable. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    48
    26
    6
    13
See reviews for
29
22
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Just held my Daughter's Wedding at The Monarch Hotel on June 11, 2011... Already recieved Emails and Calls from friends and Family stating that the Wedding and Reception was the best they've been to. Food was Absolutely Incredible, The Wedding Room and Reception Area were Beautiful, Guest Rooms were So nice and Comfortable.. Hotel staff was Helpful and attentive to every need... A great place to have A Gathering, at a price that was very Reasonable. I would love to do it again, Thank you, Monarch and all the Staff, it was more than Fun,

Randy Royse.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I had an excellent stay at the Monarch. I spent four nights in Calackamas attending a conference, had no car and spent practically the whole time at the hotel. I had a very clean, comfortable room with jetted tub that sat right above the waterfall, which I got to listen to all night long with my window ajar. Heaven for me. The bed was comfortable. linens soft, towels and toiletries abundant, big fat flat screen TV, fast internet, and very friendly and engaging staff. I felt very safe, secure and at home for a hotel.

I ate two meals a day at the hotel and have no complaints at all about the food. The breakfast menu had lots good offerings, but I found my soul food in the huevos rancheros each morning. Can't beat it. In the evening I wined and dined in Sam's Lounge, ( a great place to spend time with the girls!), and I had a great meal there each and every night. I let the bartender pick dinners for me and he did me right every time. Seafood Pasta first night, Caesar Salad second evening and Halibut on my last meal there. One night I ran into a fun and gregarious older man in the lounge who was having fun hanging with the other patrons. After he left I found out he was the owner and I was impressed that he actually hung out with his hotel guests.

I am an innkeeper and I know how important a review can be for a hotel. I normally don't give out a "five" but aside from my lovely room and the good food, the staff alone could have made this hotel a five for me. They were there for you when you needed them with a smile on their face and all the time in the world for you. I truly believe you will also get what you put out there. I treated them as I want to be treated and the respect was mutual.

Yes...they need new carpet in the hallways, but my shoes were NOT offended to the point of giving this hotel a bad rating, especially when everything else was soooo nice. Sam...get some new carpet. But keep the cooks and the rest of your staff!

Room Tip: get a room over the waterfall
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

For the amount they charge I feel they definitly can have the money to either clean the carpets or replace them..very worn down and dingy...The rooms werr great..loved the bed and the spa tub...I do suggest adding some sort of stepping device to get into the tub..I am short 5'1 and it was difficult to get in and out of the tub... Also we didnt get our slippers like the ad had said..But like I said the rooms were amazing...the carpets outside the rooms and in the rest of the hotel were yucky..very dirty looking...the food service was great and very friendly people..but withthe $3million remodel they did they shoulda splurged for new carpet

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011 via mobile

A poor attempt has been made to update and remodel the rooms. But they did not finish the updating. The door frames are coming off the wall, the showers either scald or freeze you. This place is still in need of work updating the rooms, definitely can stay at a better quality place for the amount that they charge here.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchPortland, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
We are very sorry this guest's experience was not up to our usual standards. We hope the guest alerted our front desk about the shower and other issues with the guest room as this is the only way we can fix a problem. We are constantly updating our hotel and hope to have another opportunity to be of service to this guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Our group, the Oregon Region Porsche Club, held our 50th Anniversry celebration at the Monarch Hotel. The staff did a wonderful job meeting all of our needs. We had 165 for dinner - food and service was great. We used the Monarch room for all day on Saturday which included a car show. There was always someone near by who met everyone of our requests with a smile! We highly recommend Tammy and Chris in the catering and sales office and also Steve and Garret who were the catering managers during our event. Everyone had a wonderful time!! Those who stayed at the hotel were very happy - very nice remodeled rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

My wife and I had stayed at the Monarch a couple of years ago for our anniversary. We came back again because we heard that it had been remodeled and we like the location close to shopping. We stayed in the King spa suite. The room was very nice and clean with new decor and treatments. The spa tub had been updated to a more modern type. Our room was very spacious and had a southern territorial view, which I enjoyed. My wife's favorite for breakfast is the corned beef hash. My favorite for lunch is the Ruben and our favorite for dinner is the seafood pasta sauté.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monarch Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 12566 S.E. 93rd Ave., Clackamas, OR 97015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Clackamas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clackamas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monarch Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monarch Hotel & Conference Center is a full service hotel located at the intersection of I-205 and Sunnyside Road. We are right across from the Clackamas Town Center and Clackamas Promenade with over 250 shops and restaurants combined. The Clackamas Town Center also features a 20 screen tiered theater and a MAX light rail station (green line). Free parking and free airport transportation. Free transportation is also available within one mile of the hotel. Sam's Restaurant and Lounge is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as Sunday Brunch. Room service is available during restaurant hours. All rooms have Serta pillowtop beds, refrigerators, hairdryers, coffee makers and full size iron & iron board. The Monarch has over 20,000 sq. ft. of flexible banquet & meeting space with full on-site and off-site catering services available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Monarch Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Hotel Clackamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.